Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bubble Bubble Bubble Pop

by shuanDang - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bubble Bubble Bubble Pop is a an experiment in bubble management. How many bubbles can you bubble before being overbubbled??

Created in HaxePunk, Photoshop, Bfxr.

How to Play:
Click on a bubble to submerge it. When all bubbles are beneath the surface, a new bubble will spawn.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#583Innovation3.03
#697Mood2.85
#735Graphics2.89
#754Overall2.97
#757Audio2.35
#873Fun2.65
#942Humor1.88
#980Theme2.65

Comments

rylgh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58am

nice! the idea's very simple and clever

Jerick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:01am

Started off easy and lulled me into a false sense of security, and quickly caught me off guard. Enjoyed it. Clean and Simple.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:01am

This is simply a really cool game. :)

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02am

bubble pop, bubble bubble bubble pop

alshirah says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13am

Calming game

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14am

When you get to it it's actually really fun, but then it starts to feel repetitive.

Kimba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40am

+1 last comment

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40am

Really calm game until it turns the tables on you. Taps into my inner sense of satisfaction for popping bubblewrap.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:42am

Kinda hard to tell how your doing with no on screen indication of health. Not bad otherwise.

nexust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:43am

This game really catches you off guard. I love the idea but it does start to feel a little repetitive if you get decent at it. Side goals would really enhance this game- give the player something more to focus on. Perhaps different types of bubbles that require different action or upgrades... in fact, a simple XP and levelling would keep this interesting.

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52am

Killed by exploding bubbles :D
It's a fun game. Simple, but fun.

pht59x says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:58am

Great minimalistic intent but actual screen flickers too much on either Firefox or Chrome, thus making game not really playable. What a shame!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:54pm

starts of a little slow for my liking, but it kept me clicking on bubbles!

Galan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Good job making something simple so terrifying. I spent my entire first play through going, "Oh my god! Oh my god! What happens if I fail! I don't want to see it! NoNoNo..."

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Surprisingly fun and full of suspense! A great example of how less can be more :)

I wasn't a very good bubble manager, though. Perhaps I'll do better in bubble-middle-management ;)

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:47am

From simple to crazy in one minute... :)

bzizizi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28am

Simple, yet engaging gameplay. Good job!

ezombort says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Very simple but cool game. Some kind of score text or level text would be nice :)

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Simple, but well executed. I like how things ramp up slowly and once you go 'full circle' it'll become harder more quickly.

Pitoum says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Ah ah! Too easy...
Too easy!
TOO EA...
Oh... Shit.
*Try again*

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]