Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mr. Dwarf

by zaratustra - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Left/Right - walk, Up - jump, Down - wait. X places/removes a support.

Press left/right/up against a dirt block to dig it.

Reach the surface.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#260Innovation3.50
#408Theme3.43
#618Graphics3.08
#649Fun2.92
#702Overall3.04
#786Audio2.29
#849Humor2.00
#941Mood2.55
#1692Coolness40%

Comments

Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:24am

nice

only control flaw: if you want to dig a stone that is beeing crushed, you don't dig (because it's getting crushed) but move there and then get crushed yourself.

I would prefere if moving against a stone that is beeing crushed would not move you in it's position. (you die 100% of the time, so it's never an action you want to take, but i did it by accident a few times.)

thanks for the undo button, otherwhise it would be too demotivating. :)

dkkarate says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Not intuitive. Hard to determine what action is allowed.

pbsds says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:17pm

The introtext is hard to read, and the game quickly puts you in a unwinnable situation (or maybe i suck), but i like the idea for a endless game

j_peeba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:12am

The mechanics seem promising and the potential for good brain teasers is definitely here. Currently it's a little hard to get into the game though since there's so little feedback for the player with movement and falling pieces and such.

Dooleus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13am

I like the art and gameplay. Wish there was some music.

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Complex usage of Puzzlescript, with that almost real-time action :D Well done.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Cute graphics, and an interesting mechanic. Unfortunately, it was hard for me to understand what I could and couldn't do a lot of the time. But I'm not very good at puzzle games so take that with a grain of salt! Good work on this.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Very good entry!
Like puzzle script games where developers make something new.
Can cravl only 3-d level... I'll try it later =)

petey123567 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:56am

Original!

PriorBlue says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:09am

This game is very very minimalistic. :D

csanyk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:25am

It's like a reverse tetris, and requires a lot of planning to avoid getting crushed. Very challenging!

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Great concept, a bit too hard at first. Great job anyway :D

ThingoStudios says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:39am

Interesting. On the one hand, it's a cool and unique take on a puzzle game; on the other hand it's really hard and nonintuitive.

AlexFili says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Pretty clever, you have to be careful where you put the platforms and which rocks you leave behind so they don't crush you

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]