Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dig'em

by ren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Movement - WASD
Dig - E

Digging makes holes in the ground that you can fall through to get to the next level. The lower levels are dark, unless you dig a lot at the top level to reveal light, or find a lightbulb.

The falling part doesn't map perfectly between floors so it's possible to fall outside of the walls on the next level. Sorry if that happens :x

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#55Innovation4.04
#56Theme3.96
#508Overall3.22
#691Fun2.87
#807Graphics2.78
#1024Mood2.42
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54am

The transitions feel a bit strange but otherwise awesome work.

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:24am

This concept is so cool. It got a bit hard if you didn't dig enough to be able to see but that's probably the point.

TheGrieve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45am

Confused at first but enjoyed it once I caught on, novel concept ++

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Really cool concept, I did get stuck outside of one of the level's edges. http://cl.ly/image/3Z08140U0E2e

ren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:32pm

oops, sorry about that. I did some last minute hacking to get that third floor to work right.

Thinking back on it, I probably should have put some notes on the mechanics of the game. Updated that :)

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:05am

Uhhh... I fell into some grey space, and my character could move off the screen at that point (level 3). I guess you know that, though! I like the green glob's sprite, and the general concept!

haloflooder says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:11am

The game concept was confusing at first but I caught on after a little bit, I like the idea of the game but a bug I encountered was getting stuck outside of the map multiple times.

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:35am

I really like the concept, although falling through was a bit unintuitive and I did occasionally fall seemingly outside the map. Neat idea that I would love to see polished and expanded upon.

ren says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:52am

so i pushed some changes that should fix the falling outside the map. Also fixed an issue where the tiles for the walls don't always load. hope that's allowed :x

ren says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:53am

also, thanks for the feedback so far everyone!

Ditto says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Really cool concept, and I really enjoy seeing things happen through the holes I makes, makes the game feel alive!^^

foolmoron says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Very cool concept

increpare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:37pm

oh wow. love the concept.

kristof says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Very good concept. The implementation could use some more work though. The collision box of the character is strange. Sometimes I fell down when I thought the character was still on solid ground. And sometimes I did not fall down when I wanted to do so. But I see a lot of potential here. Very innovative.

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:57pm

I like the mechanics of the game!

psychonull says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:39am

Cool mechanics! They need some refinement, but I see a lot of potential.

minibutmany says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:16am

Very well polished on going down a layer. Excellent work!

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:39am

Woah! This idea is awesome!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 4:28am

Initially I felt like I kept getting reset to the beginning for no apparent reason. Then I finally noticed the health bar and realized some of the tiles were lava. Once I got the hang of that, I found this to be a pretty interesting idea. I managed to only fall outside of the levels once.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]