Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Duck Face

by lorancou - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Move the duck to the finish with the chat. All connected people play together!

Bring your friends to play ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#93Humor3.54
#168Innovation3.68
#525Audio2.83
#908Overall2.82
#935Fun2.57
#1014Graphics2.46
#1088Mood2.30
#1129Theme2.29
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

b222ster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Very innovative, allthough I couldn't actually finish

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Well I wonder what inspired this.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Nice idea! Very funny!

lorancou says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

@xgeovanni: wonder no more! TwitchPlaysPokemon, snakedemocracy.com (a game I made with some friends for a previous jam), and of course a rubber duck that lives in my shower stall :)

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:56pm

I like the controls! Mechanically speaking, this is a lot of fun, instructing the duck, rather than controling it directly.

Jod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26pm

I had more fun with this than I should have. Good work, and great work on getting multiplayer to work. :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:02am

Ha, this is brilliant

stigmawall says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:41am

Owww the Twitchs games, hehehe. Unfortunelly I play with no friends, but sounds fun with many people saying Quack

May 1, 2014 @ 11:45am

HAHAHAHHA so much laught when you finish the game. Crazy concept! So much fun. Good job :D

GlowingSnail says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:34pm

I see what you did there.

But that only work when there are several thousands people throwing orders at once, and when the path to win involves more than repeating fw a couple times.

But ok.

XenosNS says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Nice! Love the chatroom mechanic.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:23pm

hehe, nice and cute!

Tomski says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:10pm

haha love the duck sounds

May 4, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Alone in the chatroom, I feel like I missed out a lot of the potential of this game. Nevertheless, you really nailed the ending theme -- only game to get me to actually laugh so far!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]