Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Meaning of Life

by Pavel M. Dlouhý - Jam Entry

Update2-Advice(3/5/2014): There is a bug in dialogs.
WORKAROUND: To read all dialogs ALWAYS SELECT FIRST RESPONSE until there is not other option then "bye!". I will try to fix it during following days.
Update1(29/4/2014): HotFix: One small bug prevented to finish the game.

Our little "adventure" game is based on Wintermute Engine.
Just download it and execute. Everything should be fine. If not, let us know. Thank you.

TIP: Our game is very short and unfinished.
If you want at least simple "puzzle" then try to find both ways how to reach the surface. :-)

Thank you for playing!

Our team:
Brigita Linerova - art (cca 20 hours)
Vaclav Spiral - music (cca 5 hours - both songs composed and recorded during Ludum Dare)
Pavel M. Dlouhy - program (cca 21 hours)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#179Humor(Jam)3.11
#338Audio(Jam)3.14
#404Graphics(Jam)3.30
#442Mood(Jam)2.95
#524Theme(Jam)2.83
#563Overall(Jam)2.87
#568Innovation(Jam)2.59
#583Fun(Jam)2.55
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Nicoll Hunt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Loved the self-referencing, existentialist nature of the dialogue :) Was disappointed there weren't really any puzzles to speak of though. Nice music!

May 2, 2014 @ 1:17am

42 indeed.

Good visuals as usual. Music was soothing, but maybe a bit too low in volume.

Short but funny. Well done.

Chinchilla says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:46am

Had a nice atmosphere, and was fairly trippy. Could do with a bit more content and some puzzles though :)

May 3, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Thank you for your comments! I agree with your criticism (to the letter).

If you want at least simple "puzzle" then try to find both ways how to reach the surface. :-)

Zerkruemler says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Nice idea and and solid implementation. Has not a too deep story but funny reference to Ludum Dare. I liked it. Nice Music

hbocao says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Adventure game with no puzzle? Heresy! hahahaha Good try! I wish you guys could spare the time to finish it.

Tomski says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:10am

Nice idea

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:37am

Cool concept.

aelita1992 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Nice idea, interesting to see some meaningful games in the contest :)

kikaz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Nice graphics, story and reflection about meaning of life, well, the life of player-controlled sprites ^^ nice job

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]