Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Above and Below

by pighead10 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

RUNS UNDER WINE!

Survive against the onslaught of enemies for as long as possible by diving beneath the surface and using the two layers to your advantage.

Post what time (and ranking) you got in the comments! All you have to do to reach "proficient" is read the tips in the instructions and in a few times you'll get it!

Read instructions carefully (including the 'tips') - some mechanics may be confusing, and all of them are necessary to survive for a long time!

NOTE: Error when starting has now been fixed. Was down to having 64 bit dll files included when the game is 32 bit.

NOTE: Linux port coming soon!

RANKINGS (Time: Ranking - Description):
<50k: ??? - btw, WASD to move.
<150k: Beginner - Nearly as good as a CoD player.
<300k: Proficient - Bothered to read the 'tips'.
>550k: Master - Osu player?!

PERSONAL NOTES: My least finished of my recent LD games due to missing most of day 1, so it's not as fleshed out as I would have liked it to be. I had planned for a more strategical generation of enemies which increases over time in different wave sequences (rather than the current linear increase in random spawning) with a wider variety of weapons and enemies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#669Humor2.28
#670Theme3.14
#685Audio2.52
#855Innovation2.66
#866Overall2.87
#899Mood2.60
#923Fun2.59
#1153Graphics2.14

Comments

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:15am

Couldn't run because MSVCP120.dll is missing. I suggest you include it with your binaries :)

pighead10 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Fixed! (I hope)

jancsiba5 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21pm

I liked it very much, although at first I had NO idea what to do :D glad I read the instructions... :)

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Unfortunately couldn't run it (0x000007b) I'm on Windows 8.1 if that helps.

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26pm

It won't start for me on Windows 7. All I get is a dialog box saying "The application was unable to start correctly". Sorry!

Seraphina says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Can't run it, get the following error: "The application was unable to start correctly(0xc000007b)" Win7 64-bit

pighead10 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Don't know what the issue is :( For everyone experiencing the error, can you post your operating system, whether it is 32/64-bit, and whether you have any versions of visual studio installed, which versions, and any versions of visual studio redistributable installed.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25pm

I get the same error as Seraphina.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Sorry. I posted that before refreshing the page and seeing your comment. I am using Windows 7, 64-bit. I have VS 2010 installed.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Fixed!

FGM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Is the game supposed to be spinning when you first go to the bottom level? It's very disorienting and clips off a lot of the screen.
Other than that, this is a pretty fun little action game.

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:05pm

I liked the game, I wasted some time on it, although the simple mechanic, good work!

Vytheros says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Good game concept, although I feel the theme was just an add-on. The gameplay is really fast and I died at like 100k after 5 tries. Hope it is improves in the future

microwerx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:13pm

I had fun. It was a very nice upbeat game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:49pm

The player character could use some weight in their motion--a touch of inertia and some acceleration goes a long way, I think.

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Nice game to bad I wasn't not able to switch my keyboard config on this game as playing with an azerty keyboard is a nightmare !

madalaski says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Pretty awesome, man. Good jokes, very strong to the them but not really feeling the fun levels yet.

vilya says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:44am

Working for me now too.

I liked the transition animation when moving between the above and below worlds. Also liked the way it builds up with different types of enemies. Found it all a bit confusing though.

rnlf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Runs smoothly in wine. Very hard, even with the instructions I didn't manage to get very far :-(

I like how fast paced it is and hwo the theme is approached.

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Decently fun, albeit repetitive.
Music is good.
At first I was very confused, I didn't know how to look through the menus and when I started playing I ended up with this spinning dizzying effect. After a while, I noticed I could score highly by running around in circles. Great.
A simple but pretty fun game, I guess.

Pitzik4 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:59am

I found the spinning when beneath the surface made it completely unplayable. Too bad, since it seemed like it would be fun.

jsmars says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:44am

Fun game! A bit slow start and would have done good with a bit more variation in the chasing enemies as they all get stuck in a pile pretty quickly.

Dreii says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:16am

Nice little game, The sounds where nice and fun.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]