Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Soil Manufacturing

by telaviv - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This doesn't work at all and is really just a tech demo of a sliding tile game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1217Innovation1.95
#1247Fun1.67
#1253Graphics1.58
#1262Theme1.50
#1273Overall1.83
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

SFBTom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32am

Well as you said, there's no game here, but I had fun imagining what it might become!

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

Cool tech demo, reminded me of 10000000 (10 million)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58am

Interested to see where you go with this. :_

Hempuli says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58am

It seems to be a bit finicky with vertical sliding; I felt that the game often thought I was trying to move a row when I meant to move a column. I hope you make a game out of this!

pinion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23pm

It's good to submit even it isn't really finished, worst case people can learn something from your source code.

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:18pm

props for trying and submitting. mechanics are there so why not add a post jam version? :)

ceosol says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Very nice rubix cube kind of feel. Keep at it :)

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:14am

I think I won:
http://i.imgur.com/d52voS7.png

What you should have as a victory condition is that all 4 colors are completely contiguous. When I decided that was my goal it became a good fun challenge.

Anyway still good effort interesting start.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]