Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Speed of Light

by Robotic - Jam Entry

Done in 3 hours, before we went off on our holidays ! By Lucie Viatge and Tom Victor, Credits to Queen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#78Mood(Jam)3.85
#125Graphics(Jam)4.09
#137Humor(Jam)3.26
#196Audio(Jam)3.45
#241Theme(Jam)3.43
#339Overall(Jam)3.27
#344Innovation(Jam)3.07
#434Fun(Jam)2.90
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Hiku says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 11:44am

Wow, this is so cool ! GG :D

Creeparoo says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 11:44am

I don't know why, but it makes fun :D

Evilion says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 11:56am

AWESOME

Kaliasfr says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 1:05pm

SO cool :)

Toki Anholmes says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 2:07pm

epic ending

NeonPotion says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Dat ending!

morcosan says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 9:13pm

O_O wow
3 hours ? how is that possible ?
did you have that models and animations already prepared ?
and the sounds ?
the code doesn't seem hard to make, but the art ...
i doubt you started from 0 and finished in just 3 hours

Dikkop says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 1:10am

It doesn't seem to work, I hear the sound and I see Go Up Little Thing, but the screen is black and nothing happens. (I am using Chrome)

Hiku says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:34am

@morcosan
It's by Tom & Lulu !

@Dikkop
You have to go up by pressing up.

td1801 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I'm amazed by how you made a game like this in only 3 hours *-*
Awesome mood, concept and .. Wow ! :D

Sannis says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Great graphics

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Wow, i love it!

clementcent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:00am

Love the end music :P (Super game for only 3 hours !!!)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:10am

I assume the only control was the up arrow? It took me a minute to figure out the timing. Nice for 3 hours. :)

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:11am

Loved it, played it early on

0Creds says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28am

I love this, so simple, yet so good. Fantastic job guys :)

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:19am

fresh

Helopol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:05pm

<3

Dreii says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:17am

Dat queen ending :D loved it great job for 3 hours!

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:10am

Made me smile in the end! Cool game :)

joe40001 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:02am

Looks nice, but I kinda doubt you have full rights to EVERY asset you used. :P

Still made me smile and looked very nice. :)

iambored2006 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:27pm

I really wasn't expecting that! Good game!

matt_j says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Not sure what to do, but it's pretty.

Elforama says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Nice mood and graphics. Rather simple gameplay, but very nice for 3 hours.

Snoother says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Hehe, I loved that ending. Am definitely curious as to which assets you got online and which you created yourselves. Nevertheless, it looks beautiful and builds to an unexpected and smile-inducing climax.

PixelFeet says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:13pm

This is a really neat game. Great job!

conormn says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Really lovely. Incredibly well done given the time!

radmars says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:16pm

really simple, very pretty, unexpected ending. awesome all around! <3

r2d2upgrade says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Love it. SO MUCH

Tuism says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Amazing for 3 hours :D I guess could do with a bit more depth, but what more can I ask from three hours? Not much :)

rubna says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:13pm

looks and feels amazing! very impressive considering that you've made it in 3 hours :O Good job!

vilya says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Only three hours? Wow!

There's not a whole lot of game there (as you'd expect for only 3 hours work!), but it's pretty amazing how well it all works and I couldn't help but smile when the music kicked in.

iSamurai says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:26am

Awesome graphics, realistic physics and control, great mood. If the gameplay can have more variety, then it's perfect.

SzRaPnEL says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:53am

3 hours? IMBA effect! :) But you need to change the ending sound to avoid suing :P

Ditto says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 8:02am

That's really cool! :D

May 16, 2014 @ 12:57pm

the ending hehe good job man :)

jsmars says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Really sweet little entry! Great graphics and mood, nice job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]