Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Unobtainium

by callidus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is web based, created using HTML5 and JavaScript. All instruction are given on the entry page. Please enjoy :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#380Graphics3.43
#507Audio2.85
#530Mood3.00
#607Fun2.96
#672Overall3.07
#685Humor2.26
#706Innovation2.86
#1058Theme2.46
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

callidus says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Just to be completely clear, the music used in this entry was not created by me, it is royalty free music and credited accordingly.

ccglp says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:31pm

I like this game, but I don't like the F5 reset system :P

rainybyte says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Also needs a mute option.
Probably won't play it until this 2-3 hour long playlist is over. If at all.

callidus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04am

Thanks for the comments :-)
ccglp, yeah F5 was a bit lazy, but I was running out of time :-P

rainbyte, humm I could add a mute

NeiloGD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:47am

Nice and addictive, simple to get the hang of. Got a good strategy going sticking as close to the centre as possible. Seemed to get squished often when respawning though if I fell into a hole :(

Kimau says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Simple and fun, are the other players AI or other players?
Wanted to drill the other players into pieces :P
Music suited but a mute would be nice :)

hbocao says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:49am

Very addictive! Are the other cars players or AI? Good job, man!

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Love the music, the game is actually quite difficult.

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46pm

I like the concept and it looks really nice. The start could've been handled better (the arm comes by rather quickly).

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Sorry but this game can't be in the 48h compo as you used something you didn't create.

http://prntscr.com/3el3m5

Also this game looks great but I couldn't see the score anywhere. Maybe you should resize the screen a bit for laptop users.

chagroo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Had fun playing this and has the potential to be quite addictive. After a while I had a winning strategy by sticking to the center (because if you stick to the center you are pretty safe and can easily prevent getting squashed). Making it harder to use the center might make the game more challenging. Also the music and artwork is quite nice.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:32pm

The game has good graphics, but the control and the difficult need some polishing, keep working ;-)

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Fun little game, got crushed so many times....

meszka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Nice graphics :) Seeing the other cars made me think it could be fun as a multiplayer game, though right now there isn't a huge motivation to be aggressive towards the others.

pancakecity says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:45pm

I like your use of texture for the graphics. Pretty fun driving game!

pbsds says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:25am

Like the idea, but it gets repetitive too quickly in my opinion. Adding upgrades, other things to collect(boosts? shields?) and different levels should spice this up!

eskivor says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:18am

Nice but a little bit difficult

TeamFlare says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:28am

Wow, this was a taff challenge for me^^ But I really had fun and tried it several times (I got a bit better a after a while \o/). Awesome little game :)

SnoringFrog says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:08am

Pretty cool game. It would be awesome if it had multiplayer. However, dying at the very beginning seems almost inevitable, which is annoying. I managed to get a high score of 37. ^_^

voxel says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Fun game with a surprising amount of replayability. Quite a few options tactically. A pity that you used borrowed music in a compo entry though :(. Still, fun

SK16Games says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Cool game :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]