Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Searching Beneath the Surface

by Indie Squid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My fisrt Ludum Dare game!

Controls:
W S A D - move
Mouse - look around
Right Mouse Button - Interact
Space (when in menu) - Start or restart the game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#45Graphics4.30
#58Mood3.91
#77Theme3.91
#193Audio3.41
#328Overall3.42
#638Innovation2.94
#657Fun2.91
#669Humor2.28
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

nesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:30am

Nice graphics, good work on the textures in such a short time. Ambience would be even cooler with more underwater ruins, if you're wanting to pick this up and work on it after the jam.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32am

This game was stellar, I can't imagine how anyone could pull off such stunning visuals in such a short amount of time. It was particularly fun to exit the map and swim underneath everything, thanks for allowing me to do that.

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:03am

Wow, this are really cool graphics and mechanics, it really felt like I was underwather. Great job! :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55pm

I enjoyed the rhythm of swimming up to get a good view then diving down to find the doodads. Good use of Unity terrain too.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:24am

Great atmosphere! The graphics and ambient music work really well together. Well done!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:25am

Brilliant! Really great atmosphere. For some reason it reminds me of the Mako phase of the first Mass Effect, but under water!! And thank's for the game idea, I'll start working on this "Flappy consultant" theme as soon as LD voting is over XD

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:27am

Cool atomosphera, great work!

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:36am

Nice Atmospheric game!

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:38am

Good graphics and good atmosphere!.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:51am

Very cool exploration game. It is so intuitive and catchy. Ambiance is wonderful. Ending made me smile in a good way.

dusho says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:04pm

very nice environment and smooth controls

crewderek says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:09am

Very nice environment! The background music set it very well. Also very nice controls. Mouse sensitivity was perfect!

May 1, 2014 @ 4:46am

I liked the texturing on the ocean floor. Really impressive work for 24 hours.

Melondonut says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:54am

I love the graphic and mood. by the way, I'm not sure what you wanted to tell players... somewhat difficult.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:33am

I like the graphics, the starfish adds a lot to the gameplay and are not just simple.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Great mood, I liked sea stars which give you the right way if you are lost =)
You should have randomize the name of the game at the end ;)

May 1, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Awesome. Can't belief you did this in 48 hours and it's your first ludum dare as well :) Great job, bonus points for theme, graphics and mood!

td1801 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:57pm

That's awesome. The graphics are great, and the gameplay is great too. My new game "The flappy consultant" will be amazing :p
It's a good idea !

samooJAM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Felt a bit empty. Understandable if it's made in 24hours.
Gfx was pleasant and starfish was my favorite.

shatley123 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:40pm

nice game :)

lyla says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:04pm

The graphics are nice and make me want to explore the world. The mood feels a little off with the timer; am I supposed to be appreciating the beautiful world or running around as fast as I can looking for idea orbs? I'm also not sure how the whole game development thing connects to being underwater and starfish but hey, for 48 hours it looks and sounds stellar. Maybe the ending could give a randomized game name idea for a little more of a fun “prize” for playing the game all the way through.

Brick says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Good graphic and ambiance! Thank you starfish

May 1, 2014 @ 8:25pm

This is great well done.

May 1, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Woow, very impressive for an LD game, great work! ^^

zeal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:38am

A beautifully made relaxation game that I greatly enjoyed.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]