Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Mushroom

by Zer0XoL - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A a game about the force behind the life of a mushroom, and how to control it.

Goal:
You need to consume all nearby resources, using the life force of the mushroom to survive and spread.
Resources you consume gets sent to the mushroom.
The mushroom converts the resources into enrgy, that gets distributed to the life forces after a time.

Controls:
You select a force with left mouse button.
Move it with right mouse button.
Select and apply an action to the force using the 3 buttons in the top-left corner of the screen.

GUI:
In the top-left corner you can see how much energy the selected force has.
The 3 actions are in order: nothing, dig walls, dig enemy mushroom.
And you can also see their costs in energy.

Top-right buttons are:
Restart level, exit game.

Thanks for playing my game! :)

Please ask if you have any questions.(Or if the controls are unclear.)

Update: Windows build added! (Will try for Mac later)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#70Theme3.92
#83Innovation3.95
#613Humor2.36
#717Overall3.00
#724Fun2.84
#892Mood2.61
#1007Audio1.60
#1125Graphics2.21

Comments

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09am

'enemy mushrooms' can't we all just.. spore around?

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48am

It was okay, imo pretty innovative

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59am

Thanks! :)

sam101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:17pm

It was nice, the controls are a bit weird but overall it is a good idea.

JangoBrick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Very innovative game, but the controls are strange.

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Needed a bit time to get the controls and the logic, but waiting paid off, great game!

devince says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Innovative game well done

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27pm

The controls were rough, but it was definitely unique.

neosam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Cool idea :). It also took a while for me to understand the controls.

igwb says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Yet another plant game. Just kidding.
I've seen many plant games, but not one with a mushroom.

Graphics are simple, yet straight forward.

What took me a while were the controls. I didn't realy understand what these green dots are until I accidentaly clicked one and found that they are controlable.

I was a little disappointed by the food/water not flowing through your mushroom-roots(is that even a term?).

Besides that, this game is an interesting take on the plant grow genenre. I haven't see it this way before. Perhaps with some finetuning and clearer graphics for the levels this game could become something I can imagine to play. I already spent more time on it that I thought at first.

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Thanks, yeah I wanted the resources to "flow" thru the "mushroom-roots" at first, but it became too advanced. Thanks for the detailed review. :)

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:00am

Look me a while to see the energy up in the top left corner; those are really small dots. After seeing that things were much smoother. Additionally it took a while to produce more energy which in and of itself isn't bad, but the game didn't really indicate what was happening. The game is cool and quite unique, but it would e much better with some more direct feedback to the user (something as simple as a progress bar to show energy conversion would help a lot).

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:17am

What a cool idea! It would however be better to have clearer controls. It is almost impossible to see which action is active. Some sound effects could also support the usability.Somehow I stuck in the third level without any energy left. It is not 100% clear what produces enough energy to survive.
Very good work. Could be a really cool game when redesigned with better ui and maybe sound.

StudioWolfox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:07pm

By clicking on a force it already costs energy? So i was switching between buttons and that already caused my energy to be depleted. Seems like a fun game, but I can't really get the hang of it unfortunately

Zer0XoL says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:14pm

The cost of changing action is displayed on the button. No energy is drained by selecting a force. Energy is drained when the force moves.

x1212 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:48pm

I like the idea, it's just a little hard to get what you are supposed to do in the beginning, since this is rather unique.

davidB says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:22pm

LD29.exe can't run on Windows 8.1 (block by OS, message in French on my os).

mechabit says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Brilliant! Never seen a game where you play a mushroom.

jsmars says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:17am

Really nice and unique idea! A bit more polished graphics and sounds would have make this really nice!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]