Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Six Clouds Above

by Eniimal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Six Clouds Above is a shooter in which the player control an aircraft powered by solar energy.

To fight your ennemies you will have to dive under the surface of the clouds and shoot them.
But be careful if you stay too long in the shadow, you will die.

Controls
W, A, S, D or Z, Q, S, D for movements
Space for Shooting

Thank you for playing !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#43Theme4.00
#242Innovation3.53
#276Graphics3.62
#278Overall3.47
#446Mood3.12
#450Fun3.13
#729Humor2.20
#767Audio2.33

Comments

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04am

WHen I hit space, I get the previous 'press space' screen flickering with the new 3D scene and don't seem to be able to control anything? :(

Unity Webplayer on OSX in Google Chrome.

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:07am

Clever mechanic! it connects the game with the theme very nicely, would rather aim with the mouse pointer though, couldn't hit other ships using WASD only.

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20am

Wow. Amazing game. I really liked the control scheme, which is quite easy to handle. But i wish there was a way to aim those enemy crafts precisely and a warning when the power is too low ... Excellent work..

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47am

Extremely clever mechanic. Really really good use of the theme.

I found it very hard to actually hit enemy planes though. Only managed to kill two after playing for 15 minutes. You can also cheat the system a bit by flying out of the world where there are no clouds or mountains anymore, and just fighting the enemies there.

Doesnt take away from the really good concept though. Plus a visually nice representation of that.

TheZiggy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:57am

I have the same problem as DustyStylus

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:58am

The screen just flickers and is unplayable. Unity web player on OSX.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:58am

Nice take on the theme and really awesome graphics style!

shane1090 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:01am

Really like the game mechanic - fits the theme very nicely! I did find it a little tricky to down enemy planes though.

Interesting concept though!

Jamcount says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:07pm

I loved this game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

nice visual style, and addictive gameplay. i got that feeling you have when you arrive in the uk from a sunny country, flying through the clouds into an overcast world. you should sell you solar technology!

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Nice idea and pretty well executed.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Like the solar power aspect to keep you from staying below but found it hard to hit the enemies.

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07pm

I like it very much. I love the art.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:02pm

A great mood, with a perfect gameplay. I enjoy this game for the beauty of freedom... And because the idea of shadows & sun to regenerate the battery is perfect !

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:07pm

A really like this game gender, so I enjoyed it very much. A pity you didn't add some kind of crashing animations or effects :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Concept is really original with a good idea.
Good controls. Thx ++

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Really nice use of the theme! Reminds me of Matrix.
Like the overall graphics and atmosphere.
The gameplay needs more motivation and challenge - right now there is no point in diving down.
Would have been cool to see some air-to-ground action too!
Good work :)

rylgh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43am

same exact issue as DustyStylus

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:01am

Nice easing curves on the flight controls.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Awesome graphic style :D

vilya says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:12pm

The graphics are really nice. They remind me of the indie game Race The Sun (which looks beautiful, so that's not a bad thing!). I found it impossible to hit the enemy ships. I think if you could sort that out - maybe some kind of limited auto-aim? - you'd have quite a hit on your hands!

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Really cool take on the theme. It would be nice if there was a time limit or if above the clouds was dangerous, since right here there's no reason not to constantly pop up there for more energy.

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:32pm

also got the flickering bug :(
OSX, Firefox

Waterman7 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Nice use of the theme in gameplay! I also liked the low-poly graphics.
I found it really hard to hit the enemies because I couln't really say where exactly I was shooting. A crosshair or some other indicator would have been very helpful.

May 4, 2014 @ 9:57am

Great idea!

eldog says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:42pm

This looks really cool! Can't play because I'm on linux though :(

v3games says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:10pm

A little too hard to aim for me. For the first few minutes I was convinced you couldn't actually hit the enemy ships. Really great use of theme though.

cageinabird says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Clever mechanic and interpretation of the theme. Would be nice if there was an explosion or something for when you die.

ninjascript says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Nice graphics! More feedback about how you died would be good.

borrismoose says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Damn that's a smart use of the theme. It was so difficult to shoot the enemies though, that could have been made easier. Great job altogether!

May 4, 2014 @ 3:36pm

You get my points for theme interpretation, but while the game was packed with great ideas, it had a few breaking issues:
- Things are too big. It's easy to hit the rocks and ground even whn you think you're away from them. Besides, there is zero death feedback. I don't know when i'm getting killed by rocks, ground or lasers.
- Really neat thing to use the solar power, but going above the clouds is a consequence-free action. I can just stay in there charging and go back to the battlefield as soon as i'm ok.

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Hitting enemies is a little bit tricky. Even with smooth control.

flavio says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:57pm

The concept is great and would deserve an improvement in the game play : it is quite hard to get the enemies down. Love the simple 3D design. Good job !

radmars says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Awesome concept but the controls make it hard to hit anything. Lock-on or some sort of mouse control might be good, or gamepad support.

Daiwen says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Great game! I had a lot of fun playing, it is obviously missing some things but I had a great time!

csanyk says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Pretty cool... the clouds would have been better if they could be a fog effect rather than opaque objects. Also, there's no threats above. I think you should need a reason to dive under the cloud cover and risk crashing into the mountains. Having the enemies that you have to fight be down there too, instead of above the clouds, seems backwards.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]