Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hungry Dolphin

by FrozenCow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is about a dolphin exploring the world beneath the surface.
Just to note: due to time constraints this game has no new content around level 7.

Controls: mouse (no buttons)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#172Fun3.55
#299Theme3.56
#368Humor2.73
#381Overall3.35
#504Graphics3.24
#599Mood2.94
#766Innovation2.78
#933Audio1.88

Comments

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Great dolphin simulator :) I really liked this. Lots of fun, the tutorial works well and the levelling up is a really nice idea.

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:24am

I'm really impressed that you included a tutorial. I'm guessing most people would skip it due to the time constraint =)

quantumpotato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:27am

Cool I would add scoring based on more fish eaten in one dive

Nnoel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:51am

It's pretty fun swimming around eating fish, wish there was more to do though.

shuanDang says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54am

Haha I liked doing air flips as a dolphin. The big fish deep under the sea were pretty funny too.

cavf88 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:47am

I like te controls and the air concept was really fun

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:02am

Good level of polish! I just wish it was harder

bugninja says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:32am

I like Dolphin jumping games, this was fun.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:38am

I like the way you tutorialized it. After reaching level 2, I sent my dolphin on an exploratory mission to the bottom of the ocean. He did not return.

snickersnacks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45am

I really like how simple and easy this is to play. Good gradual progression through levels too. Thanks for making it!

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55am

very simple graphics and gameplay, and quite a bit of fun. great work!

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:04am

Nice little game. Tutorial is really good addition.

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:08am

I can't explain but I liked it!

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Fun times. :) Simple, easy. Good job.

Ismei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:41pm

I too liked the tutorial, but didn't explore until I was higher level. I like the levels and the behaviour of the fish.

pinion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Very addictive. The fish behaviour was cool, I liked how they moved like real fish.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Nice. Similar controls to the game I made. But a different idea. There wasn't much graphical variation but the gamepay was solid. Overall very fun and that death message got a chuckle. Well done.

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Wow, I didn't expect my game being rated this much! Was it posted somewhere?
Thanks for all the great comments!

Zccc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:03pm

My game is about a dolphin too!! x)
Good job, it was fun swimming around for fishes but it gets boring after a while because there is nothing else to do, like enemies to avoid.. I like how the fish get bigger the deeper you swim!

monkeywork says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Fluid movement - core mechanics work well.
Need to add some sound, trying to enjoy the game while keeping an eye on the o2 levels is annoying... sound or flashing color somewhere would work well.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:47am

I really liked this game a lot, some ambient beach audio/music would have made it amazing. I think you could have had a couple options for an ending.

(Spoilers? for people who haven't played enough): Either at level 9 you win, or once you get to 8/9 you have just enough oxygen to reach the ocean floor which has like treasure or something or just triggers a little single "you win!" image with the dolphin smiling or something...

Just a thought, this is a very very solid Compo entry though, quite impressive.

LPGhatguy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:39am

It was a cute game.

callidus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:49pm

nice little game, would do well on a touch device as well :-) quite easy though.

May 1, 2014 @ 8:50am

love playing it, very easy to play and understand. smooth controls, only thing missing is some sort of enemy or obstacle that you have to avoid, its too easy to stay alive! love the game all around!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:52pm

The game is lacking sounds (or is it just me?) be the controls and the presence of an ingame tutorial make the game really enjoyable to play.

Good job

adamwoolridge says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Great work with the tutorial! Really doesn't get in the way of the gameplay and lets the player get straight in. Important when we've got hundreds of games to play! Movement felt good too. Could have done with being more obvious when I was running low on air :)

Chronoberry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Awesome tutorial! Great graphics!

May 5, 2014 @ 1:22am

GOTY

jeffz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:57am

Nice dolphin movement. Good sea gradient. Scary fast moving fish. The blocking UI notifications could probably be integrated into the gameplay to make it a bit smoother, like arcade style centre of the screen messages. Well done!

Zarkith says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:06am

This was really fun to control, nice work. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]