Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Into the Abyss

by kyyrma - Jam Entry

TL;DR:

SEE THE INSTURCTIONS ABOVE!

Arrow Lft / Rt ......... Move
Arrow down ........... Crouch / Use
Z (AZERTY C) ....... Jump / Back
X (AZERTY V) ....... Shoot / Select
Numbers 1 / 2 ........ Gun Mode / Camera

---

Into the Abyss is an underwater platformer where the player takes the role of a brave marine biologist wearing the Mark IV Underwater Investigation Suit. Unlike traditional platformers, Into the Abyss scrolls from the top to bottom as you make your way deeper into the dangerous waters.

Many hazards await you, not least the constant drain of oxygen. Each moment spent underwater you will lose health, which can either be restored by absorbing bubbles or spending money by crouching in front of recharge stations buried in the seabed.

You can collect more money for recharging by taking photos of any new creatures and objects you come across. Press [2] to activate Camera Mode and take a photo with the fire key. The reward will be instantly added to your account.

As a last line of defense you have a UV Blaster that can be used to destroy hostile creatures. Bear in mind that the weapon only holds a limited number of ammunition before it must be recharged.

---

The game features music by Teknoaxe used with permission.

Track 1: Digitized Cycles
Track 2: Eight Bit Jungle
Track 3: Bad Graffix Crow

---

Developer's notes:

The game and all of its assets (sans the music) were created by one person in roughly 60 hours. This was my third time finishing Ludum Dare and the first time I took part in the 72-hour category. The game features two levels, after which it returns to the title menu.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#68Audio(Jam)3.87
#211Overall(Jam)3.45
#303Theme(Jam)3.29
#308Fun(Jam)3.10
#328Mood(Jam)3.13
#388Graphics(Jam)3.35
#560Innovation(Jam)2.61
#633Humor(Jam)1.72

Comments

Artylo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:00am

Seems really nice. Not really anything I can say. Maybe a bit better graphics. I don't really understand why you have separate camera modes.

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:03am

Nice music. I thought the underwater atmosphere complete with weird, glowy creatures was well-done.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:09am

@Artylo:
The camera is used for taking photos of enemies and items in exchange for money. You press [2] and move the camera over to an enemy, then press fire to take a photo.

@TheLastBanana:
Cheers! The music is by Teknoaxe, you can see more of his stuff at www.teknoaxe.com

robopossum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:09am

Very solid and complementary audio, graphics and gameplay. Perhaps a micro-tutorial would help? I didn't fully appreciate the camera aspects until a few plays in.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:15am

@robopossum:

Thanks! I really wanted to make a tutorial, but as the contest drew to a close I was simply too drained to start making a new level.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:54am

The music is cool and the graphics are nice. I just didn't really understand the entire concept of shooting/gunning.. Knowing the goal is to take pictures of the monsters? Also sometimes my camera didn't really work I believe. I could be doing something wrong. A tutorial would help haha.

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:01am

A rather good game. I don't know what the camera mode was supposed to do. Nice music.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:09am

Nice game! I liked the combination of health and air depot and how air consumption forces you forward. I also liked that it was pretty challenging. Graphics are pretty sweet too.

The camera mode rectangle moves very slowly and therefore was not so much fun to use.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:15am

Thanks for all the comments!

I see the camera is causing confusion still, I added a picture with simple instructions, so hopefully next players won't be so baffled by it.

TheMaster99 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:41am

Nice, simple platformer. Accidentally stepped on a crab when trying to get air. Pincers hurt!

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:47am

Nice presentation on this, especially your menu screens and such and lighting on the particle effects.

Kwrky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:56am

I enjoyed this, played it through a couple of times.
Like others have said the camera aspect of play wasn't apparent to me. Also I think some of those crab placements go beyond hard into vindictive territory =D

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:09am

@Kwrky:

Thanks! If anything I learned the importance of a proper tutorial this LD around ;-)

And yeah, you can really see that I tried to stretch the game with artificial difficulty. I really wanted to make at least three levels, and was a bit disheartened when I didn't have the stamina for it.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:55am

Great music and mood! Nothing too new about the gameplay, it was nice and safe. :)

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Good music and a bit unfair enemies who can swim inside walls and the player can not shoot them. Still a nice game.

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:09pm

The intro screen was really well done. Seems like a homage to Pokeman snap which is a great thing.

rojo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:05am

Nice use of theme, and the music was rad!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:06am

Nice game. Cool graphics, and the camera concept is interesting. Best soundtrack I've heard so far, as well.

Katamori says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Not a big deal with the theme, but a solid and enjoyable game. After Curse of Mellon, I didn't really expect something bad.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Pretty cute visuals, love the atmosphere.

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:51am

its high five!

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:32am

I liked the graphics, the sound was phenomenal. I really didn't get the whole camera thing or how it fit in. The control scheme was a little weird.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]