Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Surface

by tacograveyard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Directions:

- use left and right arrows to control the fish
- eat food
- don't get hurt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Mood4.33
#67Audio3.75
#77Theme3.91
#93Innovation3.91
#121Graphics3.95
#214Overall3.57
#772Fun2.77
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

I enjoyed the poem, and finished the game just for it. Very well done!

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:24am

Artistic, minimal... I like it. Especially the super lo-res graphics, they were done very well. I will admit it took me quite a while to even realize what I was controlling :). Lovely game.

tanner101010 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Love the gart style, impressed with how much you accomplished using just a few pixels! Had a hard time figuring out what I'm doing, I thought it was broken or the buttons didn't work. Some instruction would have bee great, even just in the entry page not on the game page. Also nice to see a game in a non-conventional screen size.

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:34am

Loved the music, really set the tone.

gene-z says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35am

Good art sytle

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Well done! Love the art!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:47am

Great style!

Sim00n says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:47am

The music was really cool especially with this scenery. I like what you did with the poem. I'd like to see more instructions though.. It took me quite a while to figure out what to do.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:48am

What a great game, really loved the design.

May 1, 2014 @ 2:02am

I like the graphics, but I could barely see the fish at first. It was a bit confusing to play at first (I couldn't tell what the food was). Interesting concept though.

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:28am

Took me a while to figure out what to do, but the art, music, atmosphere, and writing are fantastic!

May 3, 2014 @ 5:06am

Loved the lo-fi art style and colors. Well done. Music fit well. Like others, it took me a bit to figure out what to do (grab the dropped food) while avoiding the bad fish? in the water? I was initially more scared of the fishing line. Neat idea and well executed. Good job.

Pitoum says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:25am

Very poetic and nice, it was a simple nice and poetic moment!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]