Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Find the Booty

by rvmook - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a pirate looking for booty. Use your arrow keys to find a path to the treasure on the island.

Unfortunately I didn't have time to put in a proper how to play. So the whole game seems a little random. To make it (a little better) I've updated my link with a little explantion below the game. And I've also changed one color value to make it more playable.

If you want to get lost and don't mind playing a shitty game , play the original version.
If you still want to play a shitty game, but at least know what you're supposed to do, play the adjusted version.

Next time I'll [insert random improvement here] for sure!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#290Innovation3.46
#357Theme3.48
#438Humor2.60
#440Graphics3.33
#850Overall2.88
#873Fun2.65
#997Mood2.45
#1633Coolness44%

Comments

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14am

Not really sure what to do here. Is this some kind of maze with invisible walls? Couldn't get very far in either direction :-(

alexdantas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07am

I'm confused... After trying for 2 minutes I gave up.
There should be more instructions.

But the game looks nice.. I guess

shadow64 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:39am

I was able to sort of piece together most of it before reading instructions. It's fun and I think there's a lot of potential here. Keep exploring how you can further engage players with this. Right now it does feel a little aimless, but you have your goals: keep morale up, find the path to treasure.

It doesn't take much, just flesh it out a bit more. Thanks for competing!

Chaoseed says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:28am

It's kind of fun. Once I was able to read instructions, of course. ;) (Although, the problem on that page is that I keep moving the page up and down when I try to move in the game--and vice versa!) I think the path-finding part is pretty solid in terms of game mechanics. The digging is kind of pointless, though, since you always know what you're going to get. Maybe more events, random outcomes perhaps? Good work though!

JoshRespawns says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:22am

Great Game! 5* :)

ChuiGum says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:28am

I couldn't get very far but nice graphics, and love the title

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:06am

I don't see any major difference between the original and the adjusted versions apart from the instructions, and since it's not against the rules to put a "how to play" in the description right on this page ... I'll just pretend you did and comment / rate the adjusted version.

Liked the nice clean pixel art. Simple but effective.

Step 1 is cool - you choose a path, it's good or bad based on colour, and you adjust next turn. While simple, with the right resource limitation this could take some careful planning. You could work a map legend into the UI here so the path colours were described without the need for instructions. Also, tradition dictates that "X" marks the spot - just ask any pirate :)

Step 2 seemed too easy to be entertaining - the colour of the dots guarantee what you will find, so I'd always just take all the diamond first, then the rum. I'd like an element of mystery and risk here - like rum is marked but only +1, diamond is unmarked ground, rarer, but worth much more (+3 ? +5 ?). Just an idea.

(Also spelling: "morale" not "moral" :) Smiley face because I feel like a douche for pointing it out but it kinda matters)

Maybe you think it's shitty, but I see the kernel of a interesting game here.

pjchardt says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:52am

I did not find it too confusing. I read the info about controls and then started. Figured it out after the end of the first day. Pretty interesting start :)

oranebeast says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:23am

Although random, Finding stuff gives you an immediate sense of acomplishment

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Nice!

Delca says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:31pm

The game concept seems excellent and innovative, but it seems like the game was not capturing my keystrokes and let them go to the browser, which means that my screen constantly went down to the instructions as I played. Made it to day 3 like this and had to give up, which is sad as I liked the original idea.

May 16, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Doesn't work here on Ubuntu Firefox, I can only walk four squares (except walking back and forth). Did not find any treasure.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]