Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mars Station 23

by wicht - Jam Entry

Everything made from scratch except the game engine.
2 Persons

The replay system (an essential mechanic in this game) seems to be broken if one does not play it local. Sometimes it works, sometimes not... can't figure it out in the last 5 mins :(

Mars Station 23 - nothing is at it seems beneath the surface...

Hint: If you have nobody more to talk to, leave to the "rooms" (on the left). That's not as clear as it should be.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#179Humor(Jam)3.11
#355Theme(Jam)3.19
#410Graphics(Jam)3.28
#423Innovation(Jam)2.88
#509Overall(Jam)2.98
#571Fun(Jam)2.60
#578Mood(Jam)2.68
#608Audio(Jam)2.16

Comments

sink_t says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Either I missed something, or this game basically records all of your actions and replays it later, only with more blood. Sorry, but I can't see the game or any fun in it.

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Well I talked to everyone I could and got the items and talked again and just wandered aimlessly for a while before giving up because I didn't know what to do. Red text was really hard to read too.

Hippolyta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Cool retro style and a funny twist in the "story" :-)

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:07pm

It's not very clear that you need to walk off to the left to go to the rooms.

Also, replay hung on first conversation, not sure why.

Nicely animated though.

pfeyffer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Oh, I get it: the guy lives in his own world when you play for the first time. But he is actually a psychopath. The game got stuck in the second part. But I like the idea of different perceptions of the same reality.

wicht says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Yeah, sadly the replay is not very robust. It gos mad if the engine drops too much frames. Realized that shortly before jam end :(

I added a hint to the description. The "Rooms" exit is not very clear.

Thanks for the feedback @all

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Wow, what a gruesome tale. And even more horrible because it takes my movements!! But why? Why did I do this???

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:13am

The payoff is definitely worth it.

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:11am

Nice entry, thestory it's great, didn't expected at first all the killings D;

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:26am

Nice game and good graphics.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:54am

It seems to be very difficult to get the second play to go correctly, tried twice and managed to get to the second kill only. The story is a bit interesting but the game could use some more gameplay.

SFBTom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:57am

This was a rather sweet game! I liked the friendly tone, and cute graphics.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:29am

Replay hung here too after some time, and it seemed as if it didn't reproduce my actions precisely - maybe I just forgot. Nice retro style, although gore is not really my thing.

kikaz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:22pm

what a pity, it's too short I think, but fun, good idea otherwise ! It's like a movie where we are the 'hero' !

May 2, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Ohh, neat idea :)

jhrrsn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:04pm

This game was crazy bananas. I got stuck in the end but it was pretty fun while it lasted.

hanoth says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:15am

Interesting game with a twist!

Frump says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:21pm

That was funny! I couldn't help but think how overly saccharine everything was during the original playthrough. Then it got flipped on its head in the second part.

Azzar says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Really good entry! Thank you!

Chronoberry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Nice Pokemon style environment. Unfortunately, couldn't consistently choose from the options.

TeamFlare says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:04pm

The pixel art is just lovely. Loved the characters and the story.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]