Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Surface Of The Skin

by Suese - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Interactive music video.
--

A very personal interpretation of the theme.

Quality Notes:

720p SWF - Download Only (too big for streaming)
180p Web - Streaming COMMING SOON.

Original Material

All music, code, video and graphics were made during the competition.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#29Audio4.00
#133Innovation3.76
#208Mood3.48
#574Overall3.17
#575Theme3.24
#734Humor2.19
#794Graphics2.80
#1188Fun2.05

Comments

superzac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06am

Very impressive you wrote/composed/recorded such a decent song in 48 hours. There isn't much to do, but I like how it involves the player in the music.

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53am

Awesome! The music is pretty good, but it's cool that it's interactive!

parDal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

Ok, I tried playing your game for 10 minutes like you recommended, and... I couldn't quite get it, it felt surreal and the music was fine, but the I didn't feel the interactivity part, maybe I need to play some more times, but I'll rate based on the experience anyway.

Also, I felt you put quite some work on this one, good job.

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:08am

My only complaint is that I couldn't really read the messages. They were moving too fast and there were too many to focus long enough to read it. Really cool concept though.

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11am

@SlamBlasta - Welcome to being disabled :P

Cezel_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:12am

Can belive you made this in 48 hours, thats really impressive. I really like the idea. Nicely done!

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16am

This is a very original way to express a good message. Overall I liked the approach to the gameplay, but I feel like it could have been stronger if the visual feedback from your interaction was more apparent. I wasn't sure if I was clicking the right things, or which of the things I had already clicked. Even so, very impressed with this entry.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:44am

Great idea, I liked how you interpreted the theme. Great music as well :)

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:25am

Great work.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:53am

Really nice concept there! I really enjoy the game!

Shivur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09am

Very touching and original.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16am

Nice game, and swingin' solo

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:41am

This was something new.
Interactive? Game?

Good anyways.

caryoscelus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02am

Impressive.

PS: only third time managed to save some sanity :) (interactive part is a bit hard to understand if you're trying to read the messages)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Wow ! That's just Amaazing ! It's really innovative and well executed :)

Almost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:59pm

It seems to buffer forever. My guess is that I was alt tabbed when it finished loading and so the player never received the load complete event.

jomacel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Good job!

zatyka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:05am

While I felt immersed in the experience, I didn't feel like what I did really mattered. Never-the-less, it was quite interesting, and it did have an emotional affect on me.

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:19am

@zatyka How deliciously metaphorical ;)

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:49am

This is cool! nice song man.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Surreal man... good job!

shadow64 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:38am

Nice use of the theme and way to create a mood. I definitely felt the passion and personal nature behind this project.

I think the controls might need a little work as sometimes I was clicking and it didn't seem to register. The spawn points could also be less clustered so that you avoid so much overlap (which may be why my controls seemed off).

Overall I definitely think this was a very original idea and I appreciate you sharing something so personal. Thanks!

GrooveMan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Ah, this is very touching. I really like your interpretation of the theme and the idea of it being a music video. I also like that the messages you shoot down reflect the main line of text, but since those messages are both positive and negative, it muddies the idea of shooting down the negative vibes to retain sanity.

May 4, 2014 @ 8:51pm

I have no idea how you can pull this off using a recording software you never used before, but I also have no reason to doubt your words, so... Great job! Writing and recording a decent song in 48 hours is quite a thing (timing in the solo part is a bit off, but in charming way, and I couldn't do it any better myself, anyway...), and if you concider coding and stuff has to be done too, this is really something. Congratulations!!! Reminds me to work harder, quite inspiring...

May 8, 2014 @ 6:52am

Interesting non-obvious interpretation of the theme. I'm not sure I understood the "game" part of it, but I'm impressed that you pulled this off for the compo.

Striwx says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Very cool concept and good writing !

Anoarith says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Wow ! That was really innovative ! Nice music and use of the theme :) !

Rabbits... says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:58pm

amazing. A very good song, surprising it was made in 48 hours. I enjoyed that you had the same take on the theme as I did, well done.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]