Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Below the Water Surface

by V0ID - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In "Below the water surface" you help a guy, who lives since his day of birth on the bottom of the ocean and longingly wishes to see the dry lands. A trip is offered but it costs too much for him. So you have to fulfill tasks and collect ressources from the ground of the ocean to earn enough money.

I'm quite pleased with my work, although different light levels including "flashlight", sounds and a water shader did not make it into the schedule. I (re)learned libgdx while doing this competition so this took some time, in addition to the usual bug hunts while being tired in code that was written while being tired :D

This text was written almost falling off the chair^^

Please leave a comment if something is not clear, like that fishes are enemies or things like that, so I can include that here.

First Edit: I even forgot to add plants and altough there would be 30 minutes time for 1 or 2 types I'm not able to do that anymore :/

Second Edit:
To run the game you need Java Runtime Environment installed which you get at java.com. You can run the game by clicking the .jar file or by console command "java -jar LD29.jar"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2134Coolness10%

Comments

that1guy232 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:51am

The source is 404'ed

J.Barrows says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:37am

Maybe a stupid question, but will this run on Windows? I can't figure it out.

Cactose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:40am

It will run on Windows as long as you have Java.

meishijie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:58am

Good game.

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:00am

I really like the concept of the game. looking around for treasure: cool. Doing Missions: awesome. Buying stuff: great. That being said, the complete absence of sound really made it hard to feel apart of the world. there is no feed-back when I hit stuff, or when I pick up items. Also I had no idea how to bring back the mission log so I could remember what I was doing. Otherwise, need idea, and you got the mechanics done.

ix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19am

The concept is cool and the movement of the ship is nicely weighty, but felt too slow for me. I stopped playing after accidentally pressing ESC to try to leave the store :(

Move127 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19am

Pretty cool idea and, given the short time, good execution. One little nitpicky thing: it is annoying how the ship defaults to facing up, it would be better if it just stayed facing the direction you last moved.

kevincorrigan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

Nice, well you were right about the motor noise ;)

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:56am

Well, I feel this can be expanded to the infinite. I liked the thing about resources, but I feel these mechanics can still be exploited some more. Something that in 48h is pretty hard, so yeah, nevermind.

The assets are fine, nothing special. Only thing that bothers me a little is the audio. The motor sound loops forever. I first thought that M toggled it, but nope, it restarts it.

Anyway, I had fun with this.

Ratchetmon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

Pros: large expansive world.

Cons: Slow movement.

V0ID says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14am

I'm suprised by so many ratings in such a short time. Thank you for playing and the comments : )

@That1Guy232: Maybe the source was still uploading in that moment or my connection didn't get it done, until I went to bed and continued this morning. Now it works.

@ix: I feel with you. Now that you write it, I can imagine that I would do the same thing :/

@CayoDaves: There is unfortunately no way to bring the logs back.

@Move127: You are right. Now in awake condition it would not even be so hard to implement, so I'm a little sad that I didn't implement it.

@Ratchetmon: This was some bit of compromise of making distances feel believable (especially for a transport task), safety of not bumping into anything and of course getting bored. Maybe it would have been less boring with decoration, which I have forgotten late night admittedly.

@Audio: I know how important audio is for an immersed experience, but that's what im whorst in :(

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:07pm

the controls feel good. improve graphics and you have a really nice game.

Flaterectomy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02pm

It's a nice concept. You could definitely flesh this out.

It's been said before, but the submarine snapping to the north-facing position felt a little awkward, as did the fact that you don't have to turn but instantly face whatever direction you like as long as you're not in motion.

Lack of impact feedback when the submarine gets damaged bothered me a little, but I learned quickly and kept an eye on my health.

The art is pretty simple, but acceptable. I think a more green/blue palette would've worked better given the underwater setting.

V0ID says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:32pm

@mess110: Thanks : )
@Flatterctomy: I wanted to implement the green blue palette by lighting shader, maybe combined with darker regions you would have needed a fronlight for. But that was a problem of time :( Of course you are right that it now looks not as watery as it could be.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Like others have said, this is a good start. But the ship movement was too slow for it to be really fun, and I also quit after the window closed when I pressed escape to exit a menu.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]