Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Troubling times

by strong99 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

As something hit the marine base you're knocked out by the impact. By the time you wake up life support is rapidly failing. It's time to evacuate...

Thank you for playing. Ocean Troubles is a point and click adventure situated on the bottom of the ocean.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#263Graphics3.65
#528Theme3.30
#639Mood2.90
#758Humor2.17
#823Innovation2.70
#1016Overall2.69
#1017Fun2.45

Comments

j_peeba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Pretty enjoyable and I made it to the end. The puzzles could have been harder but for a small bite-sized adventure game, this one was pretty good. Some audio would have definitely enhanced the mood though.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:01pm

I really like your idea. The execution could have used a little bit more love though. Something like sound for exapmle. But whatever. Good work!

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:03pm

A little bit slow paced and I wasn't able to click through the dialogue when I was finished reading it. But nice graphics and story!

erdos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Cool game! I managed to clock it, I agree with j peeba, some music would definitely have helped the atmosphere because the graphics were really nice and suited the theme well!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:21pm

nice point and click adventure. What was in there was great. I agree that some audio could really have helped with the atmosphere of this game. All in all a fun point and click game.

dylanigan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Love the graphics! It would be so much better with audio though.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Nice job for 2 days! I agree with the others, some sound would have been amazing. The text was really confusing cause I could not control it so i didn't know if it was dialogue or a description of the object.

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Made it to the end! This is a nice and quick little adventure game.

The navigation felt a little rough and I'm not sure if anything could be done out of sequence or incorrectly. For example: losing after being electrocuted by the battery charger.

Overall: great job completing all this in two days!

metkis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:16pm

VERY cool. Wish it had some music like other commenters, but looks great.

abayb says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:46pm

I thought it was great! I got after I needed to put the batteries into the submarine though. I couldn't figure out what needed to be clicked.

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Interesting choice for the compo, definitely not enough adventure games entered. Some mouse hover hints to show what is clickable would be helpful. I did manage to finish the game, nice ending.

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:54am

really like the graphic style :) even some basic audio would have brought this to life!

May 7, 2014 @ 12:34pm

I really like the idea, it's a shame there was no audio, that would have really made the game brilliant!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Cool concept! Love p&c adv games so much!

alvivar says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Nice environment, mood & graphics. Some audio (ambient+fx) could totally improve the experience.

Moosefly says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:14pm

As others already mentioned, audio would've been great. Still, a nice little P&C-game. I think the text should have been handled differently though, at the moment I sometimes had multiple different dialogues playing because I frantically pressed everything there was to press.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]