Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shells

by IndieST - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Shells is a short physics game trying to tell some philosophy in 5 minutes.

Controls:
WASD/Arrow keys to move;
Num1/2 to switch shell.

KNOWN ISSUES:
In the web version the pause menu doesn't work properly. So DO NOT press ESC unless you want to freeze your game forever.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#63Mood3.88
#228Audio3.31
#270Overall3.48
#475Innovation3.17
#540Fun3.03
#670Theme3.14
#767Graphics2.83
#901Humor1.94

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:49pm

How do I get past the part with spikes on the floor and the ceiling?

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Nice wor!, Interesting exploration of the theme. The music was well done. The switching mechanic is fun as well.

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Nice work!, Interesting exploration of the theme. The music was well done. The switching mechanic is fun as well.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:49am

Totally rad; my favorite so far!

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:50am

Good job! Really like the concept.

Switchbreak says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:22am

Couldn't get past the part with spikes on the floor and the ceiling, jump height didn't seem to be variable.

Nice design on the colors and font though!

May 1, 2014 @ 2:23am

This was a very interesting entry. I liked what you where trying to do. The only really hard part for me was the resistance part. Overall short, but interesting.

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:24am

Awesome game. I liked the switching mechanic, and you explored it in interesting ways. The music was awesome, and I love the interpretation of the theme.

LandoSystems says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:25am

Nice work, the music helped set the mood and it had some challenging parts.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:29am

This had a nice feeling, and I enjoyed the simple puzzles... needing to switch mid-way, and the like.

Did you mean to have it end at the "fall into hopelessness" part? To the best of my knowledge you can't get any farther than that (since what I expected, that I'd be able to swap between hard and soft shells and figure out how to float between the spikes, did not work)... but it looked like there was more levels.

Still, I appreciated the message before it became so nihilistic, and the movement and ambiance were good. Also, it was a nice interpretation of the theme... each shell is in a way "beneath" the other, rather than having the usual representation with a single surface. A solid entry.

ocmu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:31am

Fantastic game. absolutely great for such a short experience. To nitpic, i wish you could adjust the height of jumps for some of the spike areas -- so if you held jump longer you could jump a little higher, or depressed it quicker for a short jump. I love the changing shapes though. Brilliant effort!

ElStevo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:42am

When I saw the square shell, I immediately thought to the impossible game...

Dreii says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:21am

Super cool entry! loved the sounds and the switch mechanic was neat.

SimianLogic says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Enjoyed the platforming and level design, couldn't stand the pretentious preachy "philosophy." Should probably teach the quick-swap between the two since it's such an integral mechanic.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]