Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Above the Core

by bugninja - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is an "incremental clicker" game. You may have played Cookie Clicker or Choppin' Wood - it's kind-of like that.

I made this type of game because I had very little time to spend on graphics. The background graphics are really all there is to it in regards to art, unless you count my use of colors, div transparency, div spacing, font sizes, and css rounded corners :)

There are very few upgrades so far. I plan to update this game more over time, but will have to release the upgrades after the compo in additional versions or something.

Sorry, there are bugs. Let me know if you find any.

Also, I just picked up the domain for it today, so it may not be resolving for everyone yet :(


Updated screenshot, fixed the bug where you would all of a sudden have -$2000 or something.


The website now splits the compo version and the version I'm going to be continually updating so you if you like the game, you can play the updated version, but you can also vote fairly based on only what I was able to complete during the 48 hour compo. I will not be changing the compo version going forward.


Had to remove the links until I get new hosting for this. Probably will try to get free hosting somewhere.

Downloads and Links




Skencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

looks nice considering that no graphics are required for the concept. other than that there seems to be little point to digging once you can explore to find gold unless diamonds can only be found on lower levels that you have to dig to.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:04am

Ha ha! Nice take on the theme - pity you didn't get up to the coal/gold upgrades, but I love the idea!

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06am

I love cookie clicker, so i like all kind of these games :D.

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:22am

I'm going to get carpal tunnel from clicking so much!

This is an unusual genre of game to make, I'm glad to see someone doing something different like that.

With Cookie Clicker it pretty quickly became unimportant to click anything anymore because your factories were doing all the work for you -- it would be nice to get more of that feedback loop going on. Maybe there's more of that in the post-LD48 version?

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:24am

I do like this type of game, but it's not very innovative...If you add more features in the post-comp version I might give it another look. I definitely like the "graphics" and interface, even if it IS just CSS and such!

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:33am

Nice little entry, left it open by accident and wehn I came back I had $5,000! Gets pretty expensive pretty fast though

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:37am

I couldn't seem to find any gold.. maybe my patience is too low :/

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50am

I love clicker games. Lost a couple of days of my life to cookie clicker, and i don't regret it.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03am

Too many clicks! Was entertaining for a bit, good job!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:38am

oh why did you got there.... I just clicked 10 minutes of my time away :p

Katamori says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:28am

I love this genre, thanks for creating this game!

And don't mind the graphics, I think it's pretty great for a game like this.

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Very smart mining :)

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Nice take on the theme. Well rounded game and it looks nice, but would've been nice to see some representation of the workforce.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:17pm

I like those kind of games, and it's great that it saves my game. Bookmarked, will come back to it

joe40001 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:46am

Good game, but how deep do you need to get for diamonds? Because I was deep and still no diamonds. Also the balance of things needs to be tweaked.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]