Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Treasure!

by brodavi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I completed a game! Dumb game, but hey.

UPDATE: Some bugs fixed, can now actually see the treasure you're getting. It doesn't just vanish with next click. Clicks are handled better, clearer representation of item value. Cannot 'downgrade' your digger.

UPDATE2: Game should now work on tablet-sized screens (if rotated to landscape)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#676Theme3.13
#741Innovation2.81
#976Fun2.50
#1161Overall2.44
#1261Graphics1.40
#1930Coolness26%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57am

Interesting idea!

brodavi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:13am

Thanks Matthias :)

MattV says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

I feel like you have all the elements of a game here, it is just barely missing the compulsion loop. There's a solid feedback loop of digging to get better things to dig. I felt like I wasn't making any good choices though. And the text was gone too fast for me to appreciate it, since I was just clicking like a mad man. Overall though I feel like all the elements are there, it is just an arms reach away from getting its hooks into the player!

brodavi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Thanks for the input MattV! :) I think you hit the nail on the head; I agree completely.

magicspark says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:55pm

The idea could lead to a good game! I am just wondering why the "digging implement" decreased from time to time, like losing the excavator after some time. It's quite frustrating to have a great digging power (dynamite!) and lose it without knowing why ;)

brodavi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:18pm

@magicspark gyaaaaaa that is a bug :( I will fix that. Sorry! And thanks for the input! :)

brodavi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:47am

UPDATE: Some bugs fixed, can now actually see the treasure you're getting. It doesn't just vanish with next click. Clicks are handled better, clearer representation of item value. Cannot 'downgrade' your digger.

brodavi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:21am

UPDATE2: Game should now work on tablet-sized screens (if rotated to landscape)

magicspark says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:48am

It's much better now, and less frustrating ;) After some digging, there was a popup message saying that I reached "level 10", but nowhere before I could see that there was a level counter, or something related to that. Is it concerning the "digging power"?

brodavi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:25pm

@magicspark no, there are only 10 levels of dirt. When the color changes on a plot of dirt, that means a new level has been reached. Sometimes the color change is too slight though. Maybe I need another info item for that. Thanks for the feedback! :)

Nocturnal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:45am

Very unique game. I like the color scheme.

xgeovanni says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:55am

I'm not sure whether it's supposed to be, but my grid wasn't square. It and the individual cells were rectangular.

brodavi says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:44pm

@xgeovanni yeah they were originally square, but I changed the style so that the game works on a tablet-sized screen in landscape mode, so now the game squares are game rectangles :P

Zarkith says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:03am

Jeez, this is pretty addicting :S

brodavi says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Hey thanks man :)

Idkfawin32 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Ha so simple but I can't stop playing

dj_pale says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Missed some elements to make it more meaningful. Also, the digs look stretched on Chrome with 1920x1080 on Mac OS X, not quadratic as in the screenshot.

brodavi says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:56am

@Idkfawin32 wow thanks :)

@dj_pale yeah this game is definitely very far from where I wanted it, but I actually only spent 2 hours on it or so, because most of my time was spent on the 72-hour jam with some friends of mine :P

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:29am

Wow, this would make a great mobile game.

brodavi says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:07am

Thanks @Jason Lay :) I tried to get it to work on tablets. Works okay on my android.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]