Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Surface Battle

by Zerod - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Surface Battle is the Epic Battle of Redeye and Creatures of the Sea.

Move with WASD or Arrow Keys
Shoot with X, right Shift or Return

Kill as many Creatures as possible to satisfy his bloodlust

Made with Unity and complete Assets in the Source folder

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#160Fun3.57
#241Humor3.00
#436Graphics3.34
#484Audio2.88
#484Overall3.25
#506Theme3.32
#611Mood2.93
#948Innovation2.54

Comments

Skywilly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Very dangerous aquarium ! ;) I have really enjoy this game, thanks !

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Hard and cool game. Only the control is a little bit difficult. :D

alshirah says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30pm

cool art

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Nice game!

bucketh3ad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Loved the variety of weapons!

revilossor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Cool game - very Super Crate Box, with bit of EVO thrown in.
Controls were a bit slippy, and could do with a bit of balancing but enjoyed it.

dusho says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:34pm

nice game.. very fast, some serious weapon effects
btw. got accidentally stuck into one rock, couldn't move anymore (twitching in one place), had to reload webplayer

seantheartist says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:34pm

I liked the environment in the game because of the number of creatures, it didn't get boring. However, the controls were tricky for me precision wise.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Bonkers little shooter, nice graphics & range of weapons too! Only main complaint is the controls're a bit slippery, but still managed a score of 30 odd :D

pixelpig says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:36pm

A fun enjoyable game, quite repetetive but I enjoyed playing it nonetheless!

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Love the screen vibration when you shoot

gmaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:26pm

fun little game! ) cute fish)

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Cool little arena shooter. I like the pixel art graphics!

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:31pm

I like the pixel art in this, nice one.

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Controls stuck. Respawn is too long :)

tacs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Love the style but a bit frustrating to control.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Fun game! I enjoyed picking up the different weapons and blasting away. A few comments:
- The controls were kind of awkward. Many a time I was moving in one direction, tapped in the other to turn round and shoot, but the direction didn't change until the momentum did. This makes it really hard to pull of cool shots!
- Can you shoot the big black shark thing? Didn't work for me...

Khopa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Nice pixel art !
It's fun and shooting feels great :)

Thomas Ingham says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33pm

This one is fantastic!

someone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:34pm

I like how varied the creatures are.
Controls are a bit awkward though.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:34pm

A lot of fun, very functional. If there's any issue this game has, its ludonarrative dissonance, but that's forgivable.

Zerod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:35pm

@somethingsimilar the black Shark is a Whale and its your secret friend :)

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:43pm

fish with a harpoon. Stahp

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49pm

I don't want to be in that aquarium if I was a fish

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00pm

I tried the Android Version and it's not easy to control, but the game is beautiful, there are many ennemies and many weapons, I like it :)
LibGDX is awesome!

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Great art. The camera shake really helped the weapons feel good. I wish the controls were a bit more tight.

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Very fun (weapons) and good physics!

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I liked the game. It was a bit more of a surface massacre than a surface battle, though.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Very nice. A man loves pixels!

mollymus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:57am

I like the idea and the way the fish respondes to input!

Didn't quite like shooting with X and moving with WASD, but worked cool when I moved with WASD and shot with enter.

Wouldve liked it more if the chests were upgrades rather than just a random weapon I think! Progression is always fun!

Doubstract says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33pm

thats why i like fish... Great game!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:14pm

love the particles and the music.. good job man :)

Udell Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Really fun, excellent experience.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:00pm

OMG it looks incredible, I love the parallax scrolling, the animations and its overall really addictive. Great entry!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:04pm

This was pretty fun, nice job adding a screen shake, really helps the 'feel' of the game :)

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:23am

Quite whimsical, I enjoyed this greatly.

caranha says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:42am

Really cool Graphics, specially the backgrounds. The life meter should be a bit more noticeable, I did not see it on m first play through. Also some feedback when you are hit would be nice. Thanks for the game!

petey123567 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:49am

Use of Lazers: APPROVED! Give the weapons some kickback when the shoot and it'll really sing.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]