Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath

by nicso - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here we go, my third participation at a ludum dare.
Not particularly happy with this one but at least i finished somehow.

So, you are a robot witch can dig to pass through blocks. By doing so, you lose stamina. No stamina means lose. You'll have to take care of this little thing and find all the big diamonds.

Hope you'll enjoy it.
Have fun.

made with haxeflixel, photoshop, LabShirp and pixitracker.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#39Theme4.04
#175Overall3.64
#196Fun3.51
#202Audio3.39
#248Innovation3.52
#288Graphics3.61
#352Mood3.22
#719Humor2.21

Comments

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:37am

This game is actually nice but the red rectangles are way too fast.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Had some problems with lag but other than that it was a pretty nice game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Nice game.

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21pm

I liked it. The concept of going underground to avoid obstacles is fun, and having to get the gems to recharge that makes you think before wasting it. Graphics were definitely good, and the music helps with the mood. I think you could still flesh it out into a pretty good game. Nice job.

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Nice graphics & good take on the theme :D

Aske says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Great concept and i really love the graphics :)

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Liked the concept, for a 24h game its very very well done !

You could easily expand onto this concept to make a great flash game ! Good job.

d_0o_d says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

I don't think the game is too hard. I like the core concept, but I think the level design ( not the art though, that is nice ) could be a little bit more improved, if it were more structured and less big. The music fits and the theme is well implemented. Good job.

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18pm

The main character is beautiful, loved the whole idea.

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Really funny and some what different mechanics from similar games but I seemed to be stuck at level 4, or is timing everything really badly :)

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Oh shit. This was the game I wanted to make initially, before I decided that I wanted to do an FPS. I think you did a better job of this than I could have, it's really challenging. I like it a lot, although it needs more balancing. I'd have liked to be underground some more.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Good job !
This is a nice concept !
and pretty hard (:
kee it up !

whalebot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Solid game. I think my only complaint might be the lack of sprites for the red enemies. Nice work!

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Prety good game.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:25pm

I really like this. The dying on coming up too early is a bit annoying -- it makes timing the fast parts frustrating. Awesome game though.

hanoth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Very nice! I like going underground to avoid the obstacles.

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Great entry.
Game is a bit too hard though.

Lucio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:14pm

This is cool:)

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:15pm

The concept of the game is very interesting and well-resolved. With more time Im sure that the enemies would have been more nice than only red rectangles ;-)
Good job!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:15pm

This is a very nice entry, definitely top 5 of what I've seen that far.
Theme using mechanic is really well made, sharing your dig ability with your health is very challenging and intresting.
Musics and sfx are good, controls are smooth and respond well. I really like this game.

Simon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:44pm

This is actually very fun to play. Well done, nice entry!

01010111 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Really loved this game, although it got pretty difficult near the fourth level I think?

stvr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Neat concept, would have loved to see it taken further, but really tough. It's also too easy to get killed by coming up under a box; maybe doing that should just push you aside instead?

Kyle Parsons says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Very cool and well put together. For the most part it was fun but being able to kill yourself by surfacing was frustrating.

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Nice idea but little bit hard.

nSun says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Nice game. The "pass through blocks" mechanic would need to be polished. Maybe another feature like pushing blocks would complete gameplay (for more strategy against red blocks).
I particularly like the design of the drill.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]