Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Demon Dungeon

by snade - Jam Entry

A dungeon explorer with infinite amount of randomly generated dungeons, each playthrough is a new experience.
Battle or dodge the demons, find treasure, potions, keys and magic-potatos in the randomly generated chests.
Please note, the game might crash with a 1/20 chance on level generation. If so please restart the game.
We know why it happens but haven't found the fix for it.

To win the game you have to find the exit.
Good luck and have fun.

=== NOTE ===
The linux and mac version are untested. if it doesn't work please leave a comment with an error message wich could provide us with information on how to solve the problem.

also note, we are planning to continue developing this game into a more decent and less repetitive game. to stay up to date on that you can follow me on twitter @_snade

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#309Audio(Jam)3.19
#321Fun(Jam)3.08
#363Overall(Jam)3.22
#373Humor(Jam)2.56
#416Graphics(Jam)3.27
#435Mood(Jam)2.96
#444Theme(Jam)3.00
#537Innovation(Jam)2.65
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:10am

The gameplay is pretty nice, and the audio fits it entirely. You can't get tired of the soundtrack!
The map can help you sometimes, and avoiding enemies isn't that easy.

ezolotko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Good music

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:27pm

It's a nice game with nice graphics & good music.
It's a very good game made in 72 h

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:07pm

I like the game, but it gets boring pretty fast.

skymen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Good game. I liked it. The graphics and audio are good.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:25am

Fun, but the small world is big, and the medium world is ridiculous! (Also, please use ZIP instead of RAR next time?) I like the potato, but make it more powerful :-)

snade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:39am

Thanks for the feedback guys :)
@Dietrich You should try the gigantic mapsize. it can have up to 10000 rooms :P

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:08am

Nice game you guys have :D! It's awesome that each playthrough is generated randomly, and both the art and music are cool and set a fitting mood to the game.

If I had to give some critique though, it would be that the gameplay feels a little static. There's only one attack, which is understandable since y'all only had 72 hours, but even the potions feel like they don't give much health and magic potatos don't even do more damage than you could normally do on a random crit. In this way, the items don't feel like they have much of an effect and I felt like there wasn't really a way to turn the tides in my favor. All I could do is attack and hope for 6 damage hits on my side and misses on their side.

I think I also would have liked to see at least some kind of reward for fighting demons. Even if fighting remains generally a bad idea compared to avoiding battles, it'd be nice to have exp and levels or at least have a small chance to drop a potion from fights so that it isn't so frustrating when you get caught (especially when you get caught the instant you enter a room :b).

The AI on the demon's is awesome though! Running around them is a LOT of fun and I felt like I was learning their ways and wiles, thus getting better at avoiding them >:] Pretty fun game overall, and just my 2 cents about it.

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:43am

Good music and fun to play.

snade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:35am

@KirbiKaka Thanks! there were so much more things we would like to add. but yeah time got an issue. thanks for your feedback

rosehx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:30pm

@KirbiKaka You can hit -18 max on a "Magic-Potato Crit" and of course the potions are scarce it's supposed to be challenging that you should decide when to battle and when to take your time and evade and to find all the chests so you can swim in your potion amount , hence the turn-based movement.

mouse25 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:33pm

fun to play and to watch i played it with a couple of friends just talking about how to evade the enemy and on the constant hunt for more potions and magic-potato's.
to hope you still had them when you found the exit with 5 demons watching your ass.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:19pm

great visuals and the mood!

metkis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Wow, this is impressive for so little time. Awesome work.

JavadocMD says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:38pm

This is a pretty good starting point: as you mentioned you would continue development. The game definitely needs some more variety: layouts, monsters, abilities, etc. Best of luck!

JwowBMB says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:13pm

You have been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBrlCkST2es

Delca says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Great entry, I liked it! The small world size was quite large though.

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:44am

Nice game, good graphics and sounds.

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:44am

I saw your game in the video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBrlCkST2es

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]