Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

RMBR

by Pitoum - Jam Entry

RMBR is about words and memories.
It has been designed for mobile so, don't hesitate to try the APK (only tested on a Nexus 4).

How to play:
Drag and drop words you want to explore upon you.
Touch from bottom to top to come back.

Pitoum: Design, code, writing.
Davebox: Music, Sfx.

Made with HaxePunk.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#17Innovation(Jam)4.08
#31Mood(Jam)4.15
#196Audio(Jam)3.45
#297Overall(Jam)3.33
#416Theme(Jam)3.06
#465Graphics(Jam)3.15
#490Humor(Jam)2.27
#558Fun(Jam)2.63

Comments

mir007 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:39am

Visual style is great and the mood, but I was kinda lost on what to do..

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41am

Their is not so much to do. Just explore and discover :)

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:45am

Interesting way of telling a story. I tried it on my Nexus 5, but the place where I tapped on-screen didn't line up with where the game thought I was tapping -- seemed like a resolution issue of some kind.

Artylo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:03am

Really stylized and very nice. It sets a good mood up for itself, but I don't really feel how it incorporates with the theme.

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:20am

@Artylo: The idea come from Michel Leiris, a french surrealist writer which once said that each word has is own meaning for each person. Here the idea it's to explore what's under a word in a simple sentence. And going deeper and deeper in those words.

@TheLastBanana: I was afraid of that. I'll try to fix that ASAP.

shadow64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08am

This is a really neat concept. Definitely deserves a "mood" rating. :D

laker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08am

I feels great, I really like the concept. But something went wrong and the game was constantly changing stages, going back. Anyway, it's the best game I played so far. Even though I don't consider these kinds of things to be games. It's really engaging and it has great potential, I would like to see more if you'll manage to fix those problems. Or maybe I just did something wrong?

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:12am

@laker: Thanks! I think this has something to do with the "goBack" function, maybe if your cursor was outside the flash frame a some moment or things like that. I will look deeper into that. Thanks for the report.

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:20am

The visual presentation is neat and I liked the mood

laker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:28am

@Pitoum the pleasure is on my side. I downloaded the apk, I'll try it on my phone.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:34am

This is clever as shit. It works really well. Too bad there isn't more content.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Very interesting and different! The writing was fantastic (that line about the grandmothers easy was just perfect.).

Beautiful game, I would love to play a longer game like this!

Helopol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:53am

I really love the idea and the writing, that was a very cool experience, even if it was a bit short :) There's a big potential in it !

King_Mew says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:49am

I liked it. Very creative and artsy.

indigofiz says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:59am

This is great, if you could make an 'event', unlocking some previously inaccessible word by digging in the right word it could give this a goal and make a game out of it.

Great job.

FrameMatt says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:01am

Pretty interesting!

Anoarith says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Really nice :) ! It reminds me of : http://www.smestorp.com/scarfmemory.html

matt_j says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Hello, fellow HaxePunk dev :) Interesting concept. Got stuck, though. Audio is cool.

Linkigi says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:15pm

This is a very imaginative game, I love your interpretation of the theme. The idea of pulling the memories towards you is cool and feels very responsive. The whole thing feels very sleek and I haven't experienced story telling in this way before.

x2l2 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 12:19pm

nice
source link ?

BadgerPriest says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Wow, a stunningly unique take on the text adventure genre. Brilliant writing as well.

May 14, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Nice meaning!!

Snoother says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:42pm

This a wonderful concept with great ambience and mood. A bit on the short side, and with a few too many typos. But the core mechanic of dragging towards you memories is very immersive. I'm not if there is a cohesive narrative or message, but as a mood piece it works very well.

Pitoum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Thank you all!
As I say in the post-mortem (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/14/a-game-about-words-rmbr/), I know there are a lot of typos and that the content is really short. But I'm working on a bigger version right now! So stay tuned :)

Snoother says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Ah, thanks for pointing out the post-mortem -- it's an interesting read; the inspiration and enthusiasm just shines through. You really do have something special going on here that I can't wait to see furthered.

May 15, 2014 @ 12:04am

I like the overall visual style you have going on here and the mood set by your audio. Conceptually this is quite interesting, but I wound up lost and wasn't sure if there was more I could do. Sometimes it is a little hard to tell which words are bold (only sometimes, it just takes some getting used to really). Nicely done.

Lythom says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:29am

hi,
here's some feedback about your game.
What I liked :
- Atmosphere (Visual implicity / Text Font / Music / Sounds)
- entierly playable (played the web version)
- original concept that really works
- original theme approach
What in my opinion could be improved :
- more content ! (Well it's usually a good point when people want more :D)
- "Random" exploration leading the player to get "lost" > need to pull up a few times to find his way again. Maybe have some breadcrumb or any orientation tip ?

Very good job overall, I appreciated the overall clean rendering and experience.
Thanks for the game !

Lythom says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:35am

Ah just another point I think could be improved :
- Closure. I did not really felt it was over despite having explored the whole game. I'm not sure how to achieve this closure effect, maybe having a reference in one of the last sub-texts that would give some "resonance" toward "He leaves", giving it more power ? Could be with the part about closing doors for example.

Pitoum says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:58am

@Lythom: Yes, clearly the HUGE lack of content is my main problem but as I say in the post-mortem, I couldn't put all I had in mind and written. That's why I'm working on a bigger version :)

smbe19 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Amazing sound design and great concept for a game! Love it!

jsmars says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Really impressive game! Lovely idea and really interesting to play, nice job!

Xaychru04 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 6:53pm

I really like the concept! I think the draggable words should have been better highlighted though, but anyway, I enjoyed the story/atmosphere of the game! :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]