Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dig Master

by cirolve - Jam Entry

Hello, Ludum Dare people! We are Aaron & Justin, after a lot of scrambling and getting things together, we have finally (kinda) completed our Ludum Dare entry: Dig Master!

The object of the game is to dig further and further down by breaking Blocks beneath you, while gathering coins to boost your score. It takes 4 hits to break a normal block, while the Target Block can be broken in 1 hit.

Watch out, though! The target block changes on the timer bar, so you have to keep an eye on when the target block is going to change, or you may get trapped! Gray Blocks also can't be broken at all!

The controls are very simple. Left/Right Arrow Keys to move. Space to hit the Block.

SUMMARY:
Controls
- Left/Right: Arrow Keys
- Hit: Space Bar

Hits:
- 1 Hit to break Target Block
- 4 Hits to break Non-Target block
- Gray blocks are Unbreakable

Points:
- 1 Point per Coin
- 1 Point per Block, an additional point if it's the Target block

We definitely see a lot of potential in Dig Master, so we are thinking of expanding this game (as a free iOS/Android game). There are so many balance tweaks and polish that we weren't able to implement in the small time frame, but we love this game. We have a lot of ideas in mind for the future, like Power-Ups, Varying Block Types, and even Multiplayer!

Become the next Dig Master! Post your scores in the comments below! :)

Special Thanks to "Goto80" for the music!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#6Fun(Jam)4.18
#51Overall(Jam)3.83
#138Audio(Jam)3.61
#146Innovation(Jam)3.53
#192Mood(Jam)3.47
#252Humor(Jam)2.87
#281Theme(Jam)3.33
#347Graphics(Jam)3.45

Comments

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:05am

Very fun little game! 92pts!

avalonknight says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16am

A fun little arcade entry! Nothing else I can say.

Sestren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20am

189! This game was a lot of fun to play. Great job!

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23am

Fun! Fast paced and well balanced. The coins were nice to add some strategy and risk.

TeamAlpha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:36am

My God this is addicting! 167pts.

Congratulations for the game guys. Very simple, easy to understand, addicting and very polished. Great job!

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37am

wow nice fun simple game! very innovative! got 238!
Great job guys!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:52am

Great game. I thought it was very well balanced. 135 points.

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00am

Really fantastic job. So fun, simple, and intuitive. 213 so far :)

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:18am

Super fun! Surpisingly addictive dig mechanic :P

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:22am

Fun game, love the music

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:51am

hahaha, so much fun! And get so tense at the end. I love it! The music and the art are all very well tied together! My only sugestion is to make clearer which is the target block on the HUD. Sometimes the image is a little blurry or dark and can get hard to decypher.

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:51am

Also thank you for your comment about my game!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:39pm

169 points! Fun little game, reminded me vaguely of Mr. Driller back in the day (but only vaguely). Nice simple art helped in identifying the targets, best paths. Good work!

asotelo94 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:16am

Hell yeah! had a lot of fun, great casual game.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:41pm

182 :) Great little game. Feels complete. Very fun to play!

I would only make the "current block" shift more noticable - the need to look at the top HUD to check how much time you have left and what is the new block kinda distracts you from the game.

petey123567 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:05am

Original! Might need to hitch movement with a little delay - I was able to consistently hit the target blocks by just strafing back and forth.

Raiyumi says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:28am

Great game! Simple, but addictive. :)

ethankennerly says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:35am

Watching for the block to break had me switching targets. Clever puzzle! The moving floor kept me thinking quickly. I felt challenged. If you continue to develop this, my first play, I didn't see the target block. 117 points.

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:58am

144 points. A lot of fun!

frickajr says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:24am

:)

May 2, 2014 @ 7:26am

Great Game! I enjoyed it. Keep the good work. :)

May 2, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Clever game, simple but fun. Overall its presented really well and the music is good. Gets pretty intense when its speeding up and you start panicking trying to find which block to dig. Nice job!

jomomomo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Nice game, 87 points. GREAT audio.

May 2, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Got 116 points. Awesome game. :)

Frump says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Awesome game! Clever mechanics and pretty fun. 140 points my first run.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:08pm

198 points! That was awesome! It started getting really hectic as the scroll speed sped up, which made it a ton of fun! The little beep when the target block changed was really helpful. Great job!

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Hi. Clever mechanic... Would suggest maybe slower scroll for a bit longer at start, was just starting to collect coins when it got too fast for me. Like the bittune music too.

Loneshark says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:41am

I want to play as the Green dude!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]