Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sky sea

by Oye Beto - Jam Entry

I worked solo and made it in less than 48 hours but I entered the Jam because I'm using the water and skybox from Unity.

Please leave a comment. Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#118Fun(Jam)3.49
#126Audio(Jam)3.65
#196Mood(Jam)3.46
#214Graphics(Jam)3.79
#310Overall(Jam)3.31
#373Theme(Jam)3.15
#393Humor(Jam)2.50
#453Innovation(Jam)2.81

Comments

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46am

Love how the music softens when you're under water :) Kinda dislike how the level recycles itself, but the game is fun !

Kulomin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:19am

Cool game, although not seeing underwater when you are above is a bit annoying, but that's probably intended :)

NuSan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Great mood and i love the music !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:01pm

The graphics were good and gameplay was fun. I couldn't tell if the level restarted or if it was another. If you changed it to seamless endless mode it would be great.

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:08am

The graphics were simple but looked good. I think the plane flew a little too fast but other than that, it was pretty fun and interesting to play. A cool splash effect would've been nice. Good job.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:01pm

This got me pumping. Needs just some tuning on the player speed, but this was fun and exciting. I really liked just being thrown into the action. Well done!

dylanigan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Love the underwater effect on the audio!

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:37am

Pretty cool. Nice audio tricks.

Jonochrome says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:22am

I don't know how it's possible to avoid so many buildings moving so quickly! Faster horizontal movement would probably help, but the visuals are nice easy on the eyes, and the game is pretty satisfying for reasons I can't put into words.

deathray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:24am

I didn't like how I lost over time even if I dodged all the structures. But it's very nice looking and has great sound. 5 stars for mood.

DustyStylus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:31am

Cool effect with the music! 'Reset' seems to be 'continue' and there doesn't seem to be a goal. Excellent visuals and music though.

TheGreenTie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:53am

Pretty nice! I liked the music a lot!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:04pm

I don't know why, but this reminded me of starfox ;)

Nice audio too, applying a filter to the music like you did gives a nice effect.

May 1, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Cool game. I really love the music.

Split82 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:31pm

I see a little Race the sun inspiration here. Cool twist with underwater flying. Solid entry.

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:51am

its high five!

angelk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:57am

I really like the graphics overall. Love the music filter when you go underwater. Definitely looks a lot like race the sun to me, but I don't think that's a problem (it's not exactly like it in gameplay regardless). This is an occasion where the sum is better than the parts, which I mean as a compliment; I like the graphics and music and gameplay individually and I think put together this is a good Jam entry.

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:20am

Great graphic, nice music. Well done

Pitoum says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:01am

Some very nice effects (the music under the water <3)!
You should work a bit on the feeling, it's a bit rough at the moment (maybe just working on the camera's movements could do it!)

jacklehamster says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:06am

Wow, with the nice water effect, the killer soundtrack and the smooth gameplay, this is one of the coolest entry!

May 11, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Really like the way the plane moves :) I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/a1xd0I3_xtY

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:45am

Cool music and beautiful water :D

May 17, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Nice touch with the underwater sound. Nice use of color.

illugion says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:20am

I love that sea ! I wanted to jump on my screen to dive on it, looks so good ! Nice game, wish i could make more steep curves

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]