Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Debris

by sudorossy - Jam Entry

Instructions are included in the menu screen.
It's pretty awkward to play, but it's pretty awkward to move in space!

I'll upload a mac/linux build in the morning.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#143Innovation(Jam)3.55
#242Mood(Jam)3.35
#334Graphics(Jam)3.48
#426Audio(Jam)2.93
#509Overall(Jam)2.98
#574Humor(Jam)2.04
#594Fun(Jam)2.51
#736Theme(Jam)1.88

Comments

Anti says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Awesome game! Great job!

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I'm not really sure what the objective is. :( Space movement is tricky!

sudorossy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:59am

Gwinnel - Grab the bomb. Use your momentum to fling it (but not yourself!) into the asteroid. When the asteroid's blown up, head to the lit-up docking port of the ISS

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01am

I didn't manage to do anything, but I liked the mood. I'm assuming you took inspiration from Gravity, the movie.

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28pm

@sudorossy - There's a bomb?!

sudorossy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56pm

@Gwinell - Pretty much right in front of you as you start. Glows red.Space to 'pick it up'

Lyje says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:56am

It's Gravity - the game! Awesome idea dude! :) - Phi

pumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:31pm

No keybind, AZERTY keyboard, WinXP need reboot to change keyboard layout. I'll bother another time.

TowelKing says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Nice, about time someone made Gravity the game.

pumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Arf, sorry. Unity allows keybind only in downloaded version. I'm a jerk. My bad.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Controls are kinda tricky but I see your point on the fact it's hard to move in space XD and I'm not sure what the link to the theme is ?

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Well it is difficult to play, but the feeling is amazing! Well done!!

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:27pm

@HelloWorldStudios it's a Bunker-buster nuke, it buries itself inside the asteroid for maximum damage. So uh beneath the surface!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Really well polished. Didn't catch the connection to the theme, but really liked the difficulty in controls, trying to keep your orientation straight in your head was tricky.

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Somebody set us up the bomb!

Nice simulation of space movement, was hard to tell which direction i was going, as it probably would of been in space lol.

vilya says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:06am

I wasn't really sure what I was supposed to be doing in it? I guess that needs to be made a bit clearer. Also, the audio seemed a bit too loud - I got a hell of shock when the voiceover first came on!

fermenter says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:14am

aaaaaand now I'm dizzy. I didn't see a bomb or know what the objective was, but yo this felt really neat!

fermenter says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:18am

!

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:29am

@Vilya: There's a bomb pretty much straight ahead, but I'll admit it's a bit difficult to see! If you see this, then just thrust gently forward for a few seconds and it should become more visible

Garris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:02am

Dizzyyyyy. I felt drunk the whole time I was playing this. This is not a bad thing. The controls kind of felt like my enemy, so when I actually got it to cooperate for me, I felt a deep sense of satisfaction. Well made control system. Solid game.

ElStevo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:11am

I moved around in space and the models looks great.

BuKaneerz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:12am

It's really cool, nice job !
(it's a good simulation, show how it's sooo hard to move in space)
keep it up !

Covenant says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Very nice atmosphere, good job!

ninjacharlie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Awesome! I always like space games with realistic space-y controls. Good job! :D

javierecf says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:17am

Such a great interesting game, really hard to control, making the controls more accesible and easy to use would make this a really fine experience. I cant even imagine how this looks on the Oculus but i bet you will feel terror.

TeamFlare says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:16pm

reminds me on Gravity ..nice Job!

Jiddo says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:18pm

I also didn't see the bomb on my first try, but then I read the comments and gave it a few more tries. I think I got close enough to it, but I couldn't seem to interact with it.

The game looks great, and the intro scene with the shuttle getting hit looks very cool indeed.

Unfortunately I just couldn't get into the controls at all. I would have liked them to be much more accessible.

Still, great job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]