Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

NanoMineBo

by evilseanbot - Jam Entry

Move with the left and right arrows.

Programming & Art by Seanna Musgrave
Game Design by Chris & Seanna Musgrave

Font from the Kenney Donations pack.
"Smash" sound effect from JoelAudio from Freesound.org http://www.freesound.org/people/JoelAudio/sounds/135461/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#174Humor(Jam)3.13
#416Theme(Jam)3.06
#480Fun(Jam)2.79
#527Audio(Jam)2.64
#529Innovation(Jam)2.67
#615Overall(Jam)2.75
#619Mood(Jam)2.56
#710Graphics(Jam)2.26

Comments

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50am

I have never played a game before where I controlled a spider crawling on people.

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:10am

The human is thanking me for crawling on him? Haha, can't imagine me being so cool if I saw a spider collecting flowers under my skin.:D
Anyway, the concept si pretty straightworward, but it's fun. I found it a bit hard in the beginning, but I got the hang of it.:)
I am not a big fan of the graphics tho. The spider is cute, but it seems to me like the assets don't match well together. The bones are cartooney, but the little fella is a 3D model, which doesn't go well together. Still, impressive work made by one developer and you definitelly did a great job.:)

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Yeah, I think that I should have either gone for more matching assets or more dramatically mismatched assets, as opposed to the awkward we're not sure if this is intentional space. Had to make do with the unexpected departure of an artist. Still its pretty cute to watch 'em squirm around.

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Hard game, So I like it ;)

omgnoseat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Zooming out was a total mind fuck :p

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Interesting concept. Liked the idea, but was hard to figure out what I was supposed to do at first. Once I got the hang of it, I enjoyed it.

wicht says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Level 3 Extro made me laugh hard ;) Nanoboting your a**.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Futuristic technologies? Cool. Concept are brill. But graphic needs polishing.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Pretty cool!
There is one problem when the bone spawns right above the (virus?) making it impossible to collect, but it won't be hard to fix.
Great work!

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:27am

theholychicken: Yeah, there's a couple of no win scenarios as is. Another one is two of the (bad stuff) appearing on opposite sides of the screen. I was fiddling with the physics up until the deadline so there wasn't really a great time to adjust what impossible situations are.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:36am

Nice game ;) The zoom out at the end of each level are nice ;) Is that Heinseinberg at the end of level 2 ?? :P

Yaru says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Interesting concept, and a fun game!

blockbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Cool take on a frogger style game. Loved the music.

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Fun silly little game. The success screen is brilliant :)

radmars says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:48pm

<3 that doom zoom at the end of each level 'thanks!'
Fun and simple, I like it. :D

ALobker says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Looks more like a compo game than a jam game, but it's fun nonetheless.

evilseanbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:42pm

ALobker: Thats fair, I wouldn't describe myself as a great spirte artist, especially under time constraints.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:43pm

The gameplay is pretty clever, you don't see a ton of falling games!

CrackedP0t says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Linux!

evilseanbot says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:23am

CrackedP0T: If I have time this weekend I'll throw a post comp o version up with Linux support.

mechabit says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:23am

Hah, the camera zoom out is hilarious. Is the 2nd guy Walter White from Breaking Bad? I never knew we had so many bones in our chins. Thumbs up for humor.

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Simple game!
I liked the idea of nano robot healing people.
But he always seems to be falling, I just did what he was walking after I finished the first stage.

FREEZX says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Hard game. But very cool.

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:49am

its high five!

jtpup0 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

strange and fun.. and I'm pretty sure that Walter White from Breaking Bad was one of the levels.... xD

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]