Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cave Dude

by l3dx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A cave puzzle game!

The cave dude is stuck (again). Get him out of there!

Code: Java+LWJGL
SFX: BFXR
Music: Toad + Peach (VST)
GFX: GIMP

Disclaimer: The start/end screens were made in reeeeally short time :D I also really wish that I'd managed to design some more challenging levels.

IN CASE OF CRASH: run from command line with "java -jar cavedude.jar" - this should give you an error message.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#558Fun3.00
#599Mood2.94
#694Audio2.50
#848Graphics2.70
#881Theme2.85
#891Overall2.84
#1056Innovation2.37
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

eriksundqvist says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:40am

Can't start it on Windows 8 64-bit. A black window pops up then closes.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41am

With this number of levels it's not that needed, but restart option would still be nice.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:42am

Reminded me of the old Lolo games on NES, which is a good thing. :) I liked this, although there doesn't seem to be a way to restart a level..? Now it's "one mistake and you're done!" kind of thing...

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46am

CRashes when I try to run it!

AdamCClifton says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:03am

Couldn't launch either on xubuntu. Probably my fault tho as I'm a fairly new linux user.

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:14am

Restart definitely required! But loved the retro Nintendo feel!

l3dx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:08am

Thanks for playing! For those of you that experience chrashes: The only requirement is OpenGL 3.2 or higher. If you run it from command line with "java -jar cavedude.jar" you'll hopefully get a stacktrace. Please send it to me :-) thomas@skardal.com

Gaspard_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:54pm

No crash for me!
It's short&sweet.
Given the 3 levels, asking for a restart button seems overkill...
I like it overall!

l3dx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Yes. With more time (and levels) I would definitely added som kind of level reset/restart! :-) Also, I've ran it on both win8 and linux now. So I suspect that a insufficient opengl version is the problem. Sorry about that!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Good old sliding block puzzles. Pretty short, but nice!

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:22pm

I know it's already been said, but i think it needs more levels. The game seems a little to easy as well, so reducing the fun factor a little. Adding a black darkness overlay with a transparent circle to it could make the level seem a little more explorable. Keep up the good work though!!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:34am

Really good mechanics and overall feel! The collisions are sometimes a bit sketchy with the blocks but not that bad. You have a good start, keep on building levels!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Crashes on run, windows 8.1:
OpenGL versio: 3.2.0
RuntimeException: Shader compile log: WARNING '#version' : version number deprecated in OGL 3.0 forward compatible context driver.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:19pm

i really liked this one! I wanted to see some more challenging levels. A great start... good job! :)

meszka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:20pm

It was fun while it lasted. Could use some more elements (slowly introduced in further levels).

l3dx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:59pm

I've added a "post compo release" with reload. (hit 'r' any time).

@LandoSystems: I think I've fixed your issue (in post compo version)

sirdorius says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Both the Ludum and Post Ludum version crash without any message. (Using win7)

LPGhatguy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Good start!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:17pm

pretty neat!

dertom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Works for me (linux)! I like those kind of games, but since I'm absolutely a try and error guy,...I would need a restarter :D Nontheless good job!

Delca says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:21am

The game was short, but it was a good start!

minibutmany says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:20am

I started it from the command line but didn't get any error message.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]