Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Layers

by caranha - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is Layers - a QiX clone.

Your goal is to remove the top layer by cutting it away, and revealing what is below. However, while you are cutting, you're also vulnerable to enemies.

What is under the surface of each level? Some levels might be insightful, others just quirky.

Controls:
Touch screen/Mouse: Touch to move, swipe to cut;
Keyboard: Arrows to move, shift-arrow to cut;

If you have any ideas for extra levels, let me know! New levels are pretty easy to add. Have fun with the game!

==================
UPDATE (Post-compo version)

* Video tutorial and timelapse: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uVTHqqheHAs

* v1.0.1 adds a tutorial level and solves a bad bug on android.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#236Fun3.44
#286Theme3.58
#324Mood3.26
#338Humor2.79
#347Audio3.09
#370Overall3.37
#551Graphics3.17
#660Innovation2.91

Comments

alshirah says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Fantastic calming game. The inclusion of the theme is smart and unexpected. I like the effect after the Scissors crashed. Great game

awanegenebayo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Nice and relaxing

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Doesn't start ): I have java installed and all

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00pm

the controls work really well! excellent job

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Nice Graphics, Funny game. Took me a while to figure out the Mouse-controls though

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:12pm

A lot of fun to play, even if it's a tried-and-tested concept. The way the theme is included is brilliant.
Difficulty curve is quite steep, but overall, a lot of fun

loxo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30pm

I made it through! I like the great idea and the unique graphics. In the last level I found a mistake, the theme was beneath the surface and not under the surface. But I am sure you made this intentionally to test if someone will play it to the end :) More and harder levels would be great.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:05pm

This is the first time I've seen touchscreen windows compatible game in the LD. I have to give props just for that if nothing else. It is a nice solid Qix game, with more time to think about your moves without a time limit of the line runners that sped up arcade versions I'e played before.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Nice game! I like the reveal the secrets behind idea

this happened to me: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/19849504/Games/LD29/Bugs/caranha.png

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33am

pinkmonkey: Thank you! I will try to find out when this happens.

Anny: Do you have any error message that you can send me?

Thank you all for the comments!

TobiasW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Hey caranha! Another LD compo, and how could I pass up on your game :)

At first I was a bit unimpressed by the straigt up QiX game mechanic clone, but then I figured out how you worked the theme into the game - super clever and surprising, I love it! The last levels with the code of the game and the credits were especially nice. And the gameplay works, so nothing to complain there.

The art on the title screen looks a bit rough, but on the ingame pictures it works charmingly well - and the effect when your scissor die and respawn is very cool!

All in all, great work as always.

PS: While the autotracker music fits the game acceptably, you might want to give Abundant Music (a midi generator) and GXSCC (a midi to sort-of-chiptunes renderer: http://www.geocities.co.jp/SiliconValley-SanJose/8700/P/GXSCCB236/AcceptE.htm) a try. It's just so much better than autotracker!

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Hey TobiasW, thanks for the comment!

The menu screen was the very last thing I added to the game. To be honest, I was quite worried because the entire concept of this game is based on drawing, and I suck at it :-) Also even my name is miswritten in the menu screen! xD

As for the music, Abundant Music has just WAY TOO MANY OPTIONS. In the time that I generate 10 autotracker songs and pick the best one, I can't even generate one or two abundant music tracks - maybe if they had a downloadable version... I will check out GXSCC!

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:08pm

As for the QiX game, I have been wanting to do one for a while - I love this game mechanic, and I seem to never find a good QiX game around. It was also a bit of a technical challenge for myself - figuring out how to process the partially revealed messages. There are still a bunch of nasty bugs in the game that I plan to solve in the near future (I hope!)

Larzan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Very nice and relaxing, well done :)

saulopz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Cool... :) A good game, and good animation.

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:25pm

so fun )

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:30pm

The game is quite fun! Art is great too!

Naouak says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Nice little game. I had a hard time understanding controls.

May 2, 2014 @ 3:39am

Interesting little game, loved the graphics! I included this game in part 7 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Lm7qNa6SIqA

zzForrest says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:13am

Pretty good! Like the music. It's really hard, so I can't get very far, but I like the mechanics. I also really like the graphical style. Really innovative!
-zzforrest

hbocao says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Awesome idea! Oh.. this is nice. You can really tell a beautiful story this way. Damn, I really liked this one. Just choose the right music to fit the game and maybe improve the art a little bit. Great job, man.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:27pm

This was pretty great. Controls on android were a little clunky, but overall it worked really well. Nice job!

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:11pm

The control scheme was a bit weird but it was manageable and after a while it became second nature, I loved Fortix so I welcomed playing this game :)

Alex Rose says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Oh maaaaaan, this brings back memories, did you ever play Jezzball? This is a much better version of that though, since you can control your direction mid cut and destroy badguys here.

And this is basically ready to go for Android, you could pop admob in, do a tiny bit of tweaking and pop this on the Play Store in a couple of weeks time. It's a really good idea, and I haven't seen anything similar since Jezzball, so that was like 20 years ago - the simplest ideas are usually the best ones, this could do well.

I would make the red lines fluorescent so you can see them better when the background's red. Other than that, no complaints, really cool entry, and fits the theme well. Nice one.

caranha says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:03am

@hbocao - Yes, I wanted to go this route: using the game to tell a story. The only problem is that I'm not good enough with drawing to pull off an entire story like this :-)

As for the music. Yeah, another thing I'm not very good at! XD

@KevinWorkman: When you say the controls were clunky, do you mean the choice of controls, or do you mean the response? (I can see both being clunky, but want to pick your brain)

@AlexRose: Never played Jezzball :-) Thanks for the "red fuorescent lines" idea, I'll see what I can do for the next version! As for ads, I think my game is annoying enough as it is XD

ohsqueezy says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Brilliant interpretation of the theme -- I love the level with the old woman. If you're going to clone a game, it may as well be the greatest game ever made, and on top of that you gave it fun and exciting touch controls.

jaxonf92 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Loved it. very smart game

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Hello! I'm here to tell you that i liked your game i hope i'll see you in the next ld, your game has an interesting idea, maybe you needed to put some more fun mechanics but it was well done for me. I wanna see you in the next ld so i put you in my list of people i wanna rate in the next ld! Hope you have good luck :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]