Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Guy Who Fights Underground Monsters

by Rusky - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS: Arrow keys for walk, Z for jump, X for punch/kick.

I was going for a PI/mystery type of game with some combat, but that was *waaay* too ambitious so it's just a game of beating up purple underground monsters who want to eat you.

The combat mechanics and animations are my favorite part- a little rough around the edges but I think they're pretty fun(ny).

Besides the storyline (which is amazing in my imagination), I also hoped to add player death, a win condition, multiple levels, and weapons besides fists. Maybe later.

(note: for Linux, install love2d and run it with "love ld29.love". it also works in Wine)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#606Humor2.37
#886Audio2.04
#917Graphics2.60
#967Theme2.68
#968Fun2.52
#971Overall2.74
#983Mood2.48
#1175Innovation2.08
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:09am

Nice animations and I like the effect where the higher you go the more green the background is.

Couldn't get past a particular jump though :S

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20am

There's a jump I got stuck at! Nice monsters!

Galdon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26am

You can't go very far into the game before reaching an impossible jump with no other routes to take. From the looks of the tiles near that spot, maybe a one way wall was accidentally placed facing the wrong direction?

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:42am

The controls are a bit difficult to get used to and the jumping can be too unforgiving but the punch works pretty darn well :)

Rusky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:05pm

The sticky spot is just barely possible to get past, but I'll upload a typo-style fix this evening to make it easier. Luckily that's essentially the end of what I've made anyway, so all you're missing is a floating "the end" marker.

I'm glad the parts I liked worked out well at least. :)

Rusky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:56am

Alright, fix uploaded.

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:08am

Game does not run on 64-bit windows, a message box pops up with the following text:
"The version of this file is not compatible with the version of Windows you're running. Check your computer's system information to see whether you need an x86 (32-bit) or x64 (64-bit) version of the program, and then contact the software publisher"

Rusky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:22am

Whoops, fixed that.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:54am

Nice start! I got to the "the end" section! I'm glad you submitted this anyway. It's pretty cool. I like the pink things.

eowindil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:02pm

A bit short, but i really appreciated the highkick sprite, look like he is gonna lay down on a lounger XD.

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:34am

At one point I went into hyper mode, running around crazy fast and only able to face left. Not sure if that was intentional, but it was kinda fun. It seemed to lack substance though, not a lot too do, and the theme tie-in seemed pretty tenuous.

ocmu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:36am

Ack, couldn't find a way to get that middle monster : ) I liked the high jump the most. Surprising for the scale of the game/character. Nice animations, too. I wish there was more to explore, though.

5T4MP5 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:45am

The attack felt good. The jump was a little weird to figure out, but aside from a couple of spots the level felt good. Nice work.

Rusky says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:53am

eowindil: yeah, half of my theme tie-in was the story I didn't get to (and a cinematic intro I didn't get to either would've made the half that does exist a little clearer than the word "underground" in the title) :)

King_Mew says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:49pm

It's good! I'd like it if it was a bit longer and had a definite goal, but the gameplay itself is pretty polished and nice and fun.

metkis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Awesome work!

eckcz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:32pm

The name explains everything :D

ChuiGum says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:03am

Love the graphics, like the jumping too. Very nice for 48 hours

Delca says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Nice platformer with good graphics, however the collision with the world was a little bit clunky when I played (clipped through the pillar all the way down, just after being hit by an enemy).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]