Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Quest for Unobtanium

by Redream - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to the desert!

You've been recruited by the best in order to command a new mining operation.

We need to use the MINETRON 2000 to find a rare, hidden gem.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#77Theme3.91
#129Overall3.73
#150Fun3.59
#288Graphics3.61
#431Mood3.13
#456Humor2.57
#660Innovation2.91
#852Audio2.15

Comments

Kara Jayde says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:33am

Enjoyed this a lot ^_^ Consider a 'sell-all' option, as waiting for all the rocks to be sold can be annoying. The final upgrades should be more expensive as well, since by the end you're pretty OP. Mood could have benefited from catchy tune which plays as you mine, or even some ambient sounds in the background. Great work on this title :)

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:17am

Screenshots look nice but my security settings keep blocking the java file from running. :(

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:18am

Liked it a lot! Reminded me of previous mining games, but in the best way possible. I couldn't run the web version, but the desktop version worked fine.

clearlyspam23 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:19am

Overall a very fun game. would have been nice to have been able to skip the cutscenes, as they took too long imo. The graphics were really nice (simple, yet well put together)

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22am

Looks like we both had a motherloadey inspiration :) Love the particles on your miner/block rewards, but the gameplay was slowed down a little bit by the forced text scrolley tutorials and the slow trip to the overworld (which you can of course upgrade but people may choose other powerups)

ArthurMaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25am

8.5/10 Really good but needs sound and a menu.CHECK OUT MY GAME

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:26am

This is a pretty nice game. I really like the graphics, and the mechanic of upgrading your miner would keep you wanting to play for a while. It's like a little bit of Moon Patrol and Minecraft mixed together. One of my favorites. I just wish you could skip all the intro text!

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27am

I like it a lot! The only thing that really bugged me was the pacing. It was way to slow. I think the screen transitions could be faster and I should be able to skip the text. But with that fixed, this could be a really good game!

Crusable says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49am

I really liked this game. Good job!

lucienpro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15am

I really liked the gameplay and how the goal was introduced early on so you have an idea of what to do, the shop and GUI were really good but it needed at least a simple soundtrack or something, really good though!

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15am

Very well made game and would be very fun for me if it wasn't so slow-paced. It takes so long to move, buy, go down to the surface, come back, etc. It takes the fun away to wait so long to do everything.

I liked the ideas around it and how everything worked. If only it could be delivered a bit faster, it would have been perfect in my opinion.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:50am

Was definitely addictive. Had the problem of things like this it got progressively easier (though I did put myself into a fail corner at the start with over-heating and no fuel, but second go went smoothly). Definitely had charms though.

Alucard J says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02am

Also had this blocked in both Firefox and Chrome :(

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38am

Really polished! And also good to see another libGDX based game :-) Really like the 'surface' screen graphics ;)

Applet isn't working for me (Linux, UnsatisfiedLinkException when linking some library...)

dartsdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08am

Worked fine in my chrome, Great entry, similar to mine but yours looks prettier! played all the way to the end. some music would be make it better

frankbsad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:20am

not bad but a bit slow paced

Deity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:57am

Very well done and surprisingly complete for a Ludum game. I don't really have any complaints except maybe make the intro text skippable.

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Awesome game! I impressed that it was made in 48 hours with libGDX :) Good job.

Wertle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:08am

Even though the pacing was slow, I found the core loop very compelling and made it all the way to the end. Nice job!

Katamori says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:59am

Ahhh, good ol' Motherload... I missed a text skipping key though.

flavio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Damn it looks good, but blocked on my browser (I'll install the plugin later)
and when I download the desktop, a window opens and quicly closes :(
Mac 10.9, Java installed
I'll try again tonight :)

mortus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Nice game! A little too slow-paced, as others already mentioned, but quite addictive! I loved the smoke particles effect.

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:34pm

The incredibly slow pace of everything - from moving, to mining, to even selling your inventory (but worst of all, sitting through all the instructions) really killed my ability to enjoy this game.
Having a top-down perspective as opposed to Motherlode's side-view was a good choice to help differentiate yourself, but you lost the fun of falling/flying and didn't gain a whole lot. Should have taken advantage of it more.
Actually decent graphics, the mismatched pixel size of particles and stuff kind of blemished that though.

CrackedP0t says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:27am

*sparkle*

rvmook says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:51am

Overall a really nice game. Nicely balanced although, I didn't get the armor upgrades or overheating (maybe I was just lucky) A side note would be to make the text skipable or at least speed it up. (but hey, unlike me you at least explained how your game works)

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:59am

Too bad you can not skip the introduction. It is fun after a slow start.

Kate Kligman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:39pm

One of my favorite games from this LD. Good early game balance between the upgrades and gameplay. I got to the end but I don't think I won...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]