Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tunnel Digger: Artifact Man

by scgrn - Jam Entry

Controls:

Left / right cursor: Move
Z: Jump
X: Use item
C: Cycle through inventory

R: Restart level
Esc: Quit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#232Theme(Jam)3.44
#275Audio(Jam)3.27
#424Fun(Jam)2.92
#446Humor(Jam)2.38
#518Overall(Jam)2.96
#525Mood(Jam)2.80
#551Graphics(Jam)2.88
#689Innovation(Jam)2.24
#1633Coolness44%

Comments

GarrickWinter says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Fun little game! It was a little unintuitive to have Z be jump instead of the up arrow key - but I got used to it quickly. Solid concept and pretty fun!

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Nice level mechanics :)

yetanother says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Level design is good, was fun to play.

koe415 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Nice level design but ran into a few places where the way forward wasn't entirely clear and taking the wrong path meant having to restart the level or restart a section. A few of those get frustrating after awhile. Otherwise, the slow ramp up of new items and enemies makes this game fun. Killing those spider things was way more satisfying than it should be.

GarethIW says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:15am

I agree with trying to avoid the player trapping themselves where possible. Having X out of Y artifacts only to have to restart interrupts the flow a little. Nevertheless, a nice game.

Cake&Code says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:23am

I stopped when it came time to find 34 artifacts, that is just too many! Overall the game was fun but the times I lost didn't feel like my fault, it was just evil level design. If I fall down a hole and get trapped because I had no idea it was there it feels cheap. Especially when it means I have to start all over.

May 6, 2014 @ 12:04am

This game remeber me the King’s Valley II for MSX. Your level mechanics and soundtrack are cool.

May 9, 2014 @ 11:04am

Simple, but good game. I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ruvs0qoO4zU

Waterman7 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Great choice of music!
The level design was a bit tedious at times, but nevertheless a solid entry, good job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]