Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nereids' Sea

by Tifu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Control a deep sea diver as he seeks his lost treasure.

You have a terribly basic radar that tells you how far you are from the treasure, but nothing else.
When you get very close to the treasure, the radar will not give you a clear reading.

There are hostile creatures in the water, if they are alerted to your presence (by looking at them), they will turn towards you - if you move while they are alerted, then they will kill you. Wait for them to swim away before proceeding.

Find your lost treasure!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#59Theme3.95
#103Mood3.73
#299Innovation3.44
#342Audio3.10
#508Overall3.22
#587Fun2.98
#679Humor2.27
#706Graphics2.93

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:52pm

At first I was like: "Jeah, lets take a underwater stroll!" And then I was like: "WTF?"

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Really liked the exploration and the way the visuals are cutoff as though you're in a diving suit in an alien world with these mermaid like predators waiting for you.

Bit to hard for me though. Best distance was 310 away.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Oh this looks like a pretty fun game. Oh cool I'm a diver, Imma go explore the ocean floor. Yeah this is really cool, is that a person? Oh thats prett- WHAT THE FUUUUUUUUCK

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Very nice gameplay. :)
And a little bit scary!

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Awesome idea! So claustrophobic :D Those creatures are unnerving X) It would be nice being allowed to scare or lure them away, instead of just waiting for them to swim away. But great game. Oh, and a radar that tells you the exact distance to your goal is not that crappy ;D

VDZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:29pm

The atmosphere is great. Everything (circle as viewport, fog, audio, etc) works together to create an exciting atmosphere.

Unfortunately, the gameplay keeps breaking the immersion so nicely built up by the graphics and sound. Enemies remain completely static until you attract their attention, and it is only after you attracted their attention that they decide to swim away - wtf? Why would you remain on guard until there's an intruder, then decide 'nah, everything's okay here' AFTER you spot your target? Rather than stealthily trying to avoid the enemies, the game forces you to attract the attention of enemies, but not too much or you'll die. This unintuitive style of play is not very fun (the 'wait' part of 'attract their attention and wait' isn't too exciting) but more than anything it does not at all fit the 'avoid the danger that is lurking everywhere!' atmosphere the visuals and audio build up. The fact that one mistake is instant death adds insult to injury; although it makes sure you want to be very careful, dying after getting pretty far doesn't really motivate you to do it all over again. In my last attempt I died right in front of the treasure, and although I'd really like to complete the game to better judge it, I just can't bring myself to go through all that again.

Tifu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:32am

VDZ: If you got right up to the treasure, you're not really missing anything - there's a tiny tiny tiny scripted scene and then it ends. There's no further gameplay to judge after you reach it.

I agree with AI stuff, I'd certainly have done it a lot differently if I had more time/was more familiar with coding such things in Unity.

Thanks for checking out my game everyone :D

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:51am

:O Is that a mermaid?! CAN I TALK TO A MERMAID?! *walks closer...* ACK! NOE!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:12am

You've done a good job of making the diving suit feel claustrophobic! Well done!

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Holy crap is this ever creepy. The breathing. The view port. The sudden death.

My only complaint is that it's a bit hard to tell if I've aggro'd something until I'm dead.

Good job!

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14pm

I think an air gauge would make this all the more tense. Good work either way

Seraphina says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Those mermaid things are creepy! But I managed to beat it first try. Go me! Great job on this. I love the atmosphere.

Custard Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Cool game. The gameplay was lacking as it was more of just whether you have patience or not, but the strong point in this game was the mood created by the breathing and visibility. Would love to have seen some more variety in the ocean like some plants or different coloured fish.

xerohuang says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28pm

A great game! It's hard to win but a will try again!

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Really creepy; great work on atmosphere. I found the gameplay got a little stale because of how long it took to get to the treasure. I never did get to the end, because a Nereid caught me just before I found the treasure and I didn't feel like doing it all again.

Balint197 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:26pm

I'll be honest and tell you the first time I saw one of those things, i laughed then said wtf :D The atmosphere was good, but the waiting part of the gameplay was a bit boring.

Impmaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:22am

Great atmosphere, really felt like I was a diver, what with the sounds, the limited FOV, and the massive helmet. Bit boring though, cause I didn't know which way to go once I hit those big walls and there seemed to be monsters blocking the way.

May 2, 2014 @ 5:35pm

I liked the game. The breathing and the helmet made the game feel pretty claustrophobic, so I could see this working well with an Oculus Rift.

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:01pm

nice graphics.

May 4, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Cool game with a really creepy atmosphere... Sadly, I couldn't bring up the patience to find the treasure, maybe it was just too creepy for me! :)

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Bit scary gameplay. Didn't find treasure - Best distance 640 ;) Need some sort of defense at least. Interesting idea anyway.

Tifu says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:29pm

640? You were walking away from the treasure =/

May 6, 2014 @ 11:45am

160 here but I had trouble figuring how to avoid the guys. Very efficient ambience & gamefeel though. (and i really like the distance radar choice for the goal)

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:55am

Managed to get near the treasure but died before I found it! The atmosphere was good, perhaps a few more things to view or interact with would have been cool? I found that once i got on the right path i was basically just holding the up arrow until i made it to the treasure

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:31am

Very scary, games like these freak me out easily :p

DonovanWu says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:47pm

I've done a game with similar mechanics before, so finding the direction of treasure isn't hard for me. But I got killed by some monsters that are so far away from me that I cannot tell if they're staring at me, and then I had to start over, which is kind of frustrating. However, as a game made in 48 hours it is amazing enough! So I shouldn't ask too much from it. Perhaps for further development, some mechanics of zooming the sight or escaping a monster can be added.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]