Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Surface In The Sky

by tomhunt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Collect all the rings!
Don't fall out of the sky!
Beneath the surface is a safe and happy place.

:)

Controls:
W - Move forward faster
A/S - Roll
Mouse - Steer left/right/up/down

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#816Audio2.23
#859Graphics2.68
#1027Innovation2.41
#1078Fun2.36
#1088Mood2.30
#1106Overall2.55
#1224Theme1.90
#1692Coolness40%

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Had a hard time with the controls, but liked the effect of the speedway.

acehk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50am

Unique and fun once I got used to the controls. I got all the rings :D. The ones outside the jetstream were annoyingly tough

awppy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:52am

Could not collect the two rings that spawned outside of the tunnel :(

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:54am

Couldn't figure out how to do anything but spin and die.

mjau says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:10am

Sorry, but this is unplayable (Linux version). No matter if i play windowed or in fullscreen, the mouse cursor is visible and not locked in place, and the camera stops turning when the cursor hits the edge of the screen. I also tried playing with a gamepad and with the keyboard, but that seems to rotate around the wrong axis/center or something. Couldn't get anywhere.

I'll skip rating this for now.

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:16am

It was cool to get out of the tunnel and then try to get in again haha it was really nice to hear the wind outside and then everything gets calm again

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:25am

I couldn't manage to get the two rings that were located outside. Nice sound.

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:09am

Playing it in the web browser makes this nearly impossible to control.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:45am

The mouse on the web player is a bit finicky, it seems to lose focus easily. Also, there are two rings outside the track! Beautiful, though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]