Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Runemaker

by Lythom - Jam Entry

As a Rune assembler, you create powerfull weapon to help the hero go deep in the dungeon !
The creation system is made by assembling runes together to form magic properties.

Playable with mouse only, some few keyboard shortcut can help (left, right, espace).

I did not have time to finish the game. You can play around with it but some runes are buggy and the levels very repetitive. I'll add more content in a post version asap because I think this game really deserve some attention !

Because it's a loot system some runes are rare, fyi there is a total of 21 different runes =) Have fun !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2090Coolness14%

Comments

dusho says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28pm

interesting and fun
though after some time the UI got completely broken to the point where icons disappeared and were not reacting to clicks
also there some problems with rounding (1.400000001) for some modifiers

0Creds says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Very interesting and fun game. Loved the music aspect of the dungeons. Great job.

javifugitivo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:02am

The music and sound are really fun!

Lythom says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:12am

Thanks for your comments !
I added a post version compo that add/improve runes, fix interfaces bugs and change the difficulty curve if dungeons. If you like the idea of the game you should really enjoy this version =)

dusho says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:15pm

if you have 2 base attacks in your 'Sword', looks like damage is stacked, but floating values are overlapping (unreadable), more than 1 base armor doesn't stack

May 12, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Fan-tastic! I love it, the musical component is a nice touch that could really have me playing it all day, unfortunately my lunch is only so long :(

udo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Ha, that was fun! I liked how the attacks happen in rhythm with the music.

May 12, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Very innovative and fun. Great job.

Candyhandy says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Wow, this kept me going for a long time.

Hammervuis says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 6:21am

Great idea! I love beating an enemy like a drum...

camlang says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:08am

Wow, that's the kind of game I really enjoy! The idea is fantastic. At first it's hard to figure out how to construct runes, some explanations would help. Sometimes the calculations would go apeshit mostly due to modifiers. I think you should also put current sword/shield values somewhere so that you could check how runes effect them. Overall that's a really neat little game.

bogdan.tana says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:32am

Really awesome! I've been playing it a lot. I have one question, though: What can you accomplish with an extra basic attack rune (green)?

raulincze says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 11:07am

This was SO. MUCH. FUN.

Pitoum says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:51am

Very very VERY cool game.
And I mainly hate all games about dungeons and knights and runes!

- The music and the fact that it looks like a musical game is really cool, cause it's a direct feedback on how good the player is
- The rune system seems pretty cool but a bit obscure to me right now, plus, I had a bug which makes the information disappear, don't really helped me :)

Very nice game, maybe a kind of filter or tabs system for the rune would help us to get which one do what and would be clearer.

(Thanks for your review on RMBR :) )

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]