Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Infector Detector

by Devtactics - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Just a simple game where you're given a crowd of people and have to figure out which one is infecting the others. The infection spreads on contact but for the most part, remains hidden 'beneath the surface'.

The original infector is immune. Anyone else who gets infected will die shortly after.

Click on the original infector to win. Clicking on an infected person will kill them immediately. Clicking on an uninfected person will do nothing, unless you've clicked on them before -- in that case, you'll kill them. (Whoops.)

I didn't get much time to work on this, so it's pretty basic. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2090Coolness14%

Comments

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:47am

Great little Infection sim, would be great if you decide to take this further. Possibly add more clues to detection? or even special scene tools.

MattV says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:26pm

cool idea, like wears waldo! Really hard though, I killed about 200 humans before giving up.

Devtactics says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Yeah, it isn't very balanced. If you don't spot the first couple of guys falling over, you're probably going to lose. I flip-flopped between the current difficulty and an easier version where the original infector was the only one who could infect others. It was less chaotic but too easy.

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:00am

Aww yeah, 293 saved. Got lucky - the original was in the corner.
I agree with the more clues - basically I just go on a rampage after I see the first dead body. Maybe more clothes variations on people would make it more interesting. This was a fresh idea in for this theme.

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:03am

pretty damn brilliant idea, and very nice minimal presentation

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:16pm

like the concept!

May 4, 2014 @ 2:20pm

I love the concept; you've made great use of the theme. But after ~50 dead, I found things became much more guesswork. Perhaps having unique colours, so that people can be tracked more easily as you're trying to extrapolate where the original infector could have gone, would allow for a more structured approach.

But I still saved 76 humans, not bad for a day's work!

frogcheese says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:06am

This is a really cool concept, really difficult and stressful with that many people to look over, given that the moment someone drops you've got so many suspects. I managed to get the sucker with 250 people left... where I killed between ten and twenty myself trying to find the guy. I got lucky though - the infector pretty much left a trail of corpses bordering off a section of the map so I figured he was inside of there.

Overall, a really good job and something I'd never have imagined for the theme!

Devtactics says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 2:20am

Thanks for all your comments! Wish I'd been able to spend more time on this during the LD weekend. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]