Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 29

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cellular (v2) - atombrot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*Note for the Web Version: I had to decrease the light quality in the web version for it to run. When there is much going on (when multiple enemies die and leave a huge pile of food) it can get kind of slow. Play the desktop version if you want to have the full shiny experience ;)


You are a cell in the deep, underneath the surfacte of the ocean, and you try to survive.

Eat those shiny green things and attack the other cells (or evade them).

Control with WASD or keypad
Use SPACE for more speed (uses up food).

There are still some quirks (see below) but I hope you still have fun playing ;)

Tools, Libraries etc. used in the Process:
- LibGDX + box2d + box2d lights
- Pyxel Edit
- Paint.net
- Ableton Live
- Bfxr (yes, that one sound ;) )

Known Quircks and Bugs:
- You cannot restart if you die.
- The enemy cells are sometimes kind of aggressive. Need to tune this a bit down, as they start chasing the player very early.
- The camera is a bit laggy.
- The stronger a cell is, the more food it drops on death. I had in uncapped and after a while too much food has dropped XD I put a limitation on it now, but i might have to tune the numbers a bit ;)
- It's hard to follow the text when the enemies start bugging the player ;)

I hope I can still port it to webgl after the compo.

Update 1:
I have uploaded a fixed version of the game. There are mainly 2 changes in this version:
- I found a bug in the AI behavior, which would lead the AI to either attack or flee, but never to gather food. Fixed that and it is now much easier at the start.
- I increased the time messages stay on screen and the time the game progresses a bit, so the player has more time in the start of the game to gather food.

Both were non game breaking bugs (the AI one was nasty and made the game much harder, but never the less it worked ;)), so you can decide yourself which version you want to rate. The fixed version is as it was intended for the deadline...

Update 2:
I managed to get the web version running, but it does not run very smoothly.

View atombrot's journal. | View all entries by atombrot

Ratings

Coolness55%
#196Mood3.50
#276Graphics3.62
#292Audio3.18
#308Overall3.44
#489Fun3.09
#510Innovation3.12
#559Theme3.26
#1014Humor1.70

Comments

uprightpath says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:24am

Rather liked what I saw. It's a little awkward attempting to play the game and read the messages at the same time though. I know I missed a bunch there when the first enemies appeared then more when "Strong competition" came up.

atombrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

Haha, yeah. I should add that to the quirks of the game. The plan was that the AI only attacks when they are much stronger than you, but now they start attacking pretty early, making the early game very stressful ;) I need to tweak that ;)

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

Controls are a bit awkward with the cell rotating around like it's on a stick, but it was pretty good. Spore inspired?

atombrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13am

I never played spore. It is more inspired by osmos, which I have played a lot ;)
I'm also not entirely happy with the controls but ran out of time to tweak it properly.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:40am

Really great idea, running away from other cells was stressing but fun at the same time. Great job! :)

Flam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56am

I liked the gameplay. I became very intense after a while and that's the type of games I like. Good job!

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32am

Nice and moody! Enemy cells are too powerful in my opinion. But good job on this :-)

b222ster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I immediately died at the 'Stronger Competition' message, but that's because I'm bad. Turning around was a bit hard, but incredibly beautiful and pretty fun to play.

Thomas Ingham says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24pm

This was my favorite part of Spore (And Osmosis) - Love the presentation and the fact that you were able to get enemies in.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26pm

great job! Really liked the game, though I died at the first enemy...

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Great music!

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Good mood & lighting - and the fixed version has good tutorial timing. Changing size or visual look of your blob when upgrading would be nice too.

Gap says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Woah this audio, this gameplay! NICE!

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Feels really great. Audio and graphics!
Some "evolution" of some sort would have been awesome.

May 1, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Great stuff, awesome graphics. Very nice tutorial/build-up. Fighting system was a bit too opaque though, and a restart button was missing?

Caridorc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:42am

This game is very good and highlt enjoable.

myachin says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:06pm

nice game, thank you

good music
but sound is too loud

Nichii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Fun simple game, It is hard to kill other cells though.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:53pm

This was a cute little game. Hello from a fellow Box2DLights users! It would have been better with some obstacles that I could maneuver around to trick the enemies though, as-is it turns into a "run away and slowly be killed" game, haha.

May 19, 2014 @ 9:21am

I love this. The lighting system looks really good.
~funkeh

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]