Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Zits!

by davidwparker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

DEVELOPMENT:
Alas, once again, I don't really have time to work on LD this weekend...
I was able to get a solid 5.5 hours in though.

First time using Phaser.js to make a 2d game in HTML5 / JavaScript.

The finger is a photo of my wife's.
The skin is a photo of my skin.
The zit is my epic Gimp drawing skills.
No sound :(

THE GAME
Zits!

Zits are coming from beneath the surface! Pop them as fast as possible. If two explode then your date will cancel!

Press the mouse button in order to move your finger down to pop a zit (but it won't move side-to-side (much) when the mouse is down). The finger will follow your mouse side-to-side when the mouse is up.

Zits pop after ~4 seconds. Didn't have time for animation.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#230Humor3.04
#873Theme2.86
#1042Graphics2.41
#1092Innovation2.26
#1161Mood2.06
#1178Fun2.10
#1266Overall1.90
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

ninjabit says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Funny game!

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Haha :) Nice one!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

This game has a good look to it!

Sodaware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Not bad for a first game with Phaser, especially in the time frame. Definitely has potential. It might be a good thing for more squeamish players that there's no popping effect :)

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30am

I like the real-life visuals. :-p It's a little unclear when the zits will pop, and that is a little frustrating. Great job though, congrats on your first Phaser game!

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Not really a game

zatyka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Very silly :)

Gins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Amazing photorealistic graphics!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:48am

It's infotainment!
Good job.

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:13am

Not bad for 5.5 hours... The finger kept sliding away from where I clicked...

nesis says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Not bad for 5ish hours work.

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:22am

Funny game! That's some truly horrid acne. :P

psychonull says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:57pm

No date for me :( Nice idea for the 5h you had.

Kyatric says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Funny but difficult, it's indeed missing a lot.
Nevertheless, it's an interesting/funny take on the theme.

Congratulations nonetheless for making this game in far under 48 hours and submitting it to the compo !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]