Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Room Cleaning Simulator 2014

by lokijki - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tools:
Unity
Qubicle Unite
Photoshop CS2
BFXR
Abundant Music

Note:�Just want to note here, there is a bit more "beneath the surface" on this one, y'just gotta look for it a little bit. :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#6Humor4.32
#41Fun3.93
#98Graphics4.02
#103Overall3.80
#107Innovation3.86
#137Mood3.66
#157Audio3.48
#392Theme3.45

Comments

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:00am

Nice job. I enjoyed the graphics and the wobbly motion as I walked around.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:05am

nice simplicity

atombrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11am

Very nice game. Though procedurally generated, the music is catchy and fits. I liked to roll around on the floor like an idiot XD Very funny take on the theme, I like it. I also like the artstyle a lot. Looked very awesome, when all the 3d 8bit trash fell on the ground ;)

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48am

That second lot of junk falling down I couldn't believe it!! Like the art style, fun mechanic and mood, Great game :)

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55am

No idea why I played this game for as long as I did, but nice job. Maybe it was the way the character moved and rolled? It feels so good!

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55am

Great premise and nice art style + humour. I had some problems with rubbish getting stuck in the corners, but nothing too serious.

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:56am

Had more fun with it than I care to admit :D

aeveis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

haha, the cookies. nice 3d and music!

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

Nice game!

atomic_swerve says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

Okay, based on the comments I have to be the first person to have discovered your theme :) VERY cute, VERY excellent secret, the only complaint I have is that your hit detection stops at one target. This is the ONLY game I will EVER 5-star. New reviewers, if you haven't discovered what's Beneath the Surface you haven't really played this game!

omaha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

YES. This was amazing. I was having such a nice time pushing piles of crap onto the sensor, and then the COOKIES.

Thank you for this.

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59am

My favorite game so far haha I love it!

lokijki says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

@atomic_swerve Haha, thank you! Was getting worried no one would find it. :P What do you mean about the hit detection?

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

Tears of joy, my friend, tears of joy :,)

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04am

Saved my dog. Style reminded me of Katamari.

noom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06am

This had me in stitches, the first time I rolled on the floor I burst out laughing. Wonderful entry, the art style (while simplistic) is great, the sound track I enjoyed, made me think of the gameboy colour era.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09am

That was way too much fun. I have never had more fun cleaning my room. The art was really clean and nice, the sound was good and fit the game well, and the rolling... oh my god the rolling. I think I had to much fun just rolling into the corner, haha really well done :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12am

I was smiling; it was so fun, but then the evil cookies came! D:

Really nice job!

ruerob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

That game is really fun. Would I have known that cleaning up my room would make so much fun and is so easy. I would have done it ten times a day.

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39am

I can see where the theme is placed at!
That's great all drunken guy and stuff~

Yay cookies!!

Alucard J says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44am

I kept cleaning the cookies (which are even harder than the newspapers) just to listen to the music. Nice one, very funny :)

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:45am

Really well done. The rolling and sword mechanics felt really satisfying. The happy music was great too. Amazing job.

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Really nice style! Fun!

sstrandberg says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Cute interpretation of the theme. I really like the bottles of Arizona.

peejaygee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54am

Reminds me of Katamari Damacy, but without the ball

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:05pm

ahahah great work !
This game is so cool (:

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Yesss. I got the cookies. Nice physics.

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Funny wobbly cube dude. I thought I'd completed it when I had cookies, and then BAM. I started rolling and rolling and SINKING. That was a good moment. Cake overlord consumed me though. :(

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Where did you get the picture of my house? j/k lol, nice one, love the physics!

ryangatts says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:04am

Playing this game was a fantastic experience. Everything fit together so perfectly and you really nailed the theme.

hissssssssss says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:02am

Great job on BOTH games!

About the second one, I felt like it would have been nice to be able to burn the cups by knocking them into the lava. I expected to be able to, but nope. Would have made my life easier.

But still, a game within a game? Fantastic job.

TobiasW says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:58am

Haha, wow - I had to watch the video for the full experience. Well hidden! Apart from being one of the few entries with a 5 star theme (and now I wish there were 6 stars, 'cause this is really above and beyond): Great art style and a lovely sense of humor. I especially liked the description. I always wanted to roll around the floor like an idiot.

(Also: Super secret bonus points for braveness, as you deliberately made something that most people won't get!)

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:19pm

BWAAAHAHAHA! this game is so good! love the style and especially the twist. great job!

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:11am

COOKIES my perseverance has a REWARD!

Could play this forever if more garbage fell on me A+ trash game.

joe40001 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:48am

This game was a like a 4 star game even before the ending. With the ending it's 5. It's rare for a LD game to surprise me but this one very much did. It was cute, fun, and pleasant. Graphics were just right, mood, everything was great. It's a shame if you don't get the recognition you deserve for this game if reviewers only play the very very beginning.

Also my OCD is mad that I couldn't completely clean that room. I want a post credits vacuuming mini-game. :P

I've played and reviewed over 100 LD29 games and this might be my favorite yet. Great work, how big was your team, or was it just you? Because if the latter that's even more impressive.

ezolotko says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:40pm

I like how 2d and 3d go together here.

Therrato says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Nice game, took me a while to figure out how i got to second part,

raulincze says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:08pm

This was really fun. The hidden "slow mo" dungeon was awesome. Nice work!

soy_yuma says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:26pm

BEST GAME EVER! The cake lord killed me once above and multiple times beneath the surface. But I finally saved the multiverse!!

AlbertoSM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Repetitive music, the physics of the objects didn't help much, and the hidden quest is nearly impossible because of its unbalanced difficulty. Nice going, but polish it up more next time!

ZYXer says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:40am

Haha your game is funny. I cleaned up a room which was weirdly satifsying, then I got cookies, then I had to fight a cookie king. I'm not sure what just happend. But definitly well done!

May 8, 2014 @ 3:36am

My favorite game thus far. I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-VvtqXfr-Xs

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:17am

that was awesome - you have a real gem here

Kimau says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Frekking Amazing! I played it really enjoyed it, came to vote saw there was more went back and then I was like OOOoooooh! I think you hid it too well personally but very nice!

JoeProgram says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Pretty excellent. I thought the game was over at first when the cookies dropped - it would have been better to start with something easier to push into the furnace. The playthrough video really helped too.

conormn says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Incredible job. Really great game, loved everything about it :)

elefantopia says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:40am

Hahahahahahaha I spent at least 30 seconds rolling on the floor like an idiot!

elefantopia says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:40am

It made me happy so mood all the way to 5, ok I maxed up all the rating because, why the hell not.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:15am

Interesting idea and cool implementation, but too difficult to be enough fun to motivate me further. The cookies just don't want to move at all which makes it frustrating. It is also not clear how much progress is needed to proceed.

zebi24 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:46am

Awesome, love it!! :)

ActionRemix says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Rolling around is surprisingly effective. I'm not supposed to dispose of the cookies, am I? ;)

TaleLore says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Even above the surface was very fun and polished.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Mmmm, cookies. Has a nice feel to it.

TeamFlare says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:04am

very funny game :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]