Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Where Is My Bone?

by Ellian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Where Is My Bone? is a game about sniffing stuff and digging for loot. Find your bone!

<LEFT> and <RIGHT> to move.
<UP> to jump!
<DOWN> to dig, sniff and bark.

You need the right <SMELL> to be able to <DIG> items!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#11Graphics4.54
#78Overall3.87
#97Humor3.50
#103Mood3.73
#178Theme3.71
#196Innovation3.62
#248Fun3.42
#1056Audio1.32

Comments

jrap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21am

New tile: Why is my owner sitting alone with a sad expression and a litre of booze?

Stunning graphics and a really cute theme. Too bad it's silent (though I am getting a bit tired of hearing 48hr improvised MIDI tracks so maybe that's for the best). Cute mchanics that go with the theme and all round a really solid entry. Feel Proud.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Those graphics are amazing! I love them so much!

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

I love those graphics! It's absolutely stunning! A pity there is no sound. It would have greatly benefited the game :/. Really nice anyhow!

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:59pm

nice pixel art, could really do with sound effects though...

Airwaffle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Very beautiful!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

I've rated a lot of games, but this one is absolutely brilliant and probably my favorite so far. It seemed like it would just be a cutesy game about a dog, but it ends up being so much more than that, telling a story that the dog could never understand but that the player certainly would. If the controls were refined a bit, it got some audio, and a proper ending (at least, I assume there's not actually a win condition other than getting the bone?), then it would be perfect. Excellent job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

This is definitely the best I've played so far. Interesting and inventive gameplay, super dark comedy, and great visuals. Even just a sort of ambient outdoors loop would have helped fill the silence, but it's not too bad. Reminds me of my own entry.

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11pm

The spritework is amazing! Seriously, this looks really good. Pretty solid game mechanic too, though in practice it turned out to mostly be going from point A to point B. I did enjoy the dark twist as well.

Any kind of audio element would have been nice too, but I'd say the graphics make up for it.

okkolobr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Really great job on the graphics. Loved the idea of the gameplay, hate myself to not have thought about something like that ( 4 dogs at home...). Good job !

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Super cute graphics and animation! It was a relief to soothe my eyes on such high quality pixel art.

Found cat scent and fishbone, gave fishbone to cat, so I could enter bedroom. Found human scent and ring, tried down arrow everywhere, nothing happened.

Logan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Ha, I love the story in this one. And the graphics are really cute!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Found the bone! Fantastically dark and awesome visuals. Nice contained item puzzler. Just missing a bit of audio and it'd be perfect!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Haha, I found my bone! Good stuff, very entertaining!

Belingo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Great art and good story. I found my ld bone.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Best game I've played this Ludum Dare. Seriously.

Thingus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:03pm

REally liked it; got a real idea of what it's like to be a dog.
Being a dog seems pretty awesome.

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Brilliant! This is quite a way of telling a story, and your story is well put together. Graphics are nothing short of beautiful and all it lacks is some sound and music. If you're not the composer kind of type I'll do as I did for all games without music and recommend you www.abundant-music.com music generator. It makes midi tracks but you can convert them to mp3 and they sound quite well and not repetitive.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Raaah, I ragequit because I found no solution, but I'll still cense it ! Soooo beautiful, and I'm fond of the animation of the dog and cat. "Wif Wif !" Good job :)

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09pm

I'm sorry for all of you who got stuck in the game, I just added a Walkthrough :(

Thanks a lot to everyone for your comment!

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24pm

This is one of the best game I've seen so far. Its graphics are awesome, and it's got me thinking what the hell should I do until I got the smells thing.
Of course, I didn't expect the story it hides 'beneath the surface', so it's a double pun :D
Some audio would've been perfect for it, but still it's fun!

Sink says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Really neat! I love the underlying story you added, makes you want to complete the game even more. Fantastic graphics as well

Zccc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:41pm

I can't believe this, this was so creepy in it's cute graphics and the happy dog narrative, the ending made me cringe, this was awesome, thank you for this!!

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:07am

Had to use a walkthrough to realize you could bark at your owner from a certain spot, but wow. I love how well thought-out this is.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:15am

I like the art style and the brand of dark humor. I did have to use the walkthrough, mainly because it took me a while to realize there was a tiny "!" prompt for smells/digging spots.

Jod says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:39am

Wow, one of my favourites this LD! Wonderful graphics (like, really, I'm super jealous) and a lovely sliding scale of awfulness in the story told by the environment, not the protagonist. Five out of five!

Improvement wise: everything about audio has been said, so I'm not going to add to that. But I think maybe a different exclamation mark colour when walking over something that can be smelled and something that can be dug up?

Maniulo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Oh my god, this is brilliant!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Very pretty game, controls might benefit a little bit of tweaking but overall, nice job.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Wow, awesome graphics and very cool setting :)
If wish that had some audio. Still an awesome entry.

shasharala says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:42pm

That was refreshing. I really liked how as the game unfolded a story progressed that only the player would understand.
Our silent protagonist simply wanted a delicious, fresh bone but for us, the player, we got much more than that.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Wow this was really macabre and the open ending actually very fitting! It's a shame it has no sound though. I also liked the graphics a lot!

Robber says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:58pm

very well done, great little details like the painting..the little exclamation marks are usefull, helped me finish the game without the walktrough..awesome game..ok some nitpicking now because you will ofcourse release this great game with audio at a later time: you find stuff you already found, like the ring again, which take something out of the consistency/realism, hope you polish out the last details

GFM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:34am

Oh god! That ending!! I was kinda expecting something like that... but wow! Really good!
Graphics are already really nice, but the game need a little more polish... sfx and some particles would make this a lot better. =D

May 1, 2014 @ 5:40am

Hah! Loved the subtle storytelling, solid entry.

Ditto says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:42am

This was really good! Pixelwork is just fantastic! I love seeing this story through the eyes of a dog^^ Good work!

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:24am

Perfect art style, nice story, too bad I had to use the walkthrough, I really wished there were music, otherwise a very good entry.

Techblogogy says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Really nice game

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:41am

Very nice puppy :)

pansapiens says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:16am

Looks great, simple but effective premise for an adventure / exploration game. A solid and polished production for such a tight timeline - to repeat jrap's comment - feel proud because you should be. Video stream here if you are curious: http://www.twitch.tv/omgwtfgames/c/4187104 - I didn't beat it, but I'll look at the walkthrough and finish it now that I'm not recording.

Random LD trivia: Uhfgood also made a game titled "Where is my bone ?" for LD26 - http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=53 . It also features a dog, but that's about where the similarity ends :)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Really cute graphics, but a bit too "guest-and-test" for my taste.

Zutty says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Genius. Its a shame there's no sound, but its still an exceptional entry. Love the dark twist.

Thorig says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Very nice. Poor guy.. well... poor everyone I guess

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:57pm

great take on the theme. sorely missing audio!

ethankennerly says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:28am

When I dug up a ring, I felt interested. If you continue to develop this, I wasn't sure how to infer where some objects were buried and how they mapped to the smells.

goerp says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:47pm

This game is so subtle! The way the story is told . . I just love it.
I found the interface not very intuitive, if you can fix that and maybe add some audio, you've got a perfect game as far as I'm concerned.

JonathanG says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:37pm

The art style and animation for this game is fantastic, and the backstory and the way you discover it is great once you get into it. My main gripe is the way the puzzles are set up. It seems the only way to solve a puzzle is through trial and error - get a random scent, dig in random locations until you find something. I was hoping that a scent would give you a visual trail or audio hint or some sort of clue to indicate the correct place to dig. As it is, I just got frustrated and went straight to the walk-through. It's a shame because the aesthetic is so strong. Could definitely do with some background music or environmental garden/house sounds.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]