Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Treasure Dive Buddy

by Gareth Jenkins - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Swim to move around, collect air to continue and dodge danger. Is there treasure? What else lies beneath the surface?

Mouse Control: left mouse click in direction you want to swim

Controller: left stick to choose direction, A button to swim

Time your swimming control with the motion of your dive buddy -- spamming the button won't work and will just get you frustrated / dead.

--

Game in Unity; Modelling and animation in Maya; Some textures and effects in Photoshop; Music instrumentation, recording and composition in Ableton Live; SFX recording and processing in Reaper.

Idea came pretty quickly -- started about 90 minutes after the compo start, spent ~30 hours total.

Thanks to https://twitter.com/pbhogan for the awesome https://github.com/pbhogan/InControl controller library. I've tested 360 wired and wireless controllers on Mac and PC. Should support other standard controllers as well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#246Graphics3.69
#304Audio3.16
#324Theme3.53
#356Mood3.21
#470Overall3.26
#550Humor2.44
#577Innovation3.04
#607Fun2.96

Comments

Seraphina says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Swimming controls took a bit to get used to, but I had fun with it regardless. Nice job.

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:09pm

To be such a simple concept you managed to make a pretty fun game out of it. It kept me playing for a few minutes, which is always a good sign! I like the style of graphics, and the music sets the mood well. Good job overall!

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Simple concept and well executed! not sure if there is an end to the game. I got to ~100m

belva1234 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Controls are a bit wired

lord says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Computer controls leave something to be desired, I can see it being much nicer with a gamepad

Seppel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:25pm

I liked it. I got to ~140m.

The camera REALLY needs to have the character closer to the top of the screen. I lost by hitting into three fish that were on top of each other. I couldn't react to them in time.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Wow, the mechanic was surprisingly fun! I liked how I would panic when I was about to be eaten, and screw things up. Took a second to figure it out though, at first I thought it was bugged :D

I think this could really translate nicely to mobile!

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:29am

fun mechanic! 112m

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Im not a friend of games that the main mechanic is handle the controls, (like octodad). But I appreciate the work and rate it properly

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Could've been done more with.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Cool concept, very well executed, reach 140 meters, was very funny.

The different fishes are really cool, it makes me want to go deeper !

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Managed 221m! This is a lot of fun, feels good to play and has simple but good looking 3d work. Only suggestion I'd make is to have the camera pan ahead of the diver as you speed up, but I guess that may have been a concious design choice. Good work!

KirbiKaka says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:03am

This game is pretty fun :D! I like the way the swimming works, though it would have been nice if the controls were stated more clearly in the game for those of us who don't read the description before-hand.

I agree that the camera definitely needed to show more of what was ahead of you. The game was typically very easy except you died if you happened to be unlucky and run into like 3 fishes stacked on top of each other.

I thought it was very interesting that taking damage removed your air. I think, though, the way it was implemented made the game a little too easy (besides the camera-induced deaths). The air bubbles are plentiful and they replenish so quickly, it's weird for them to act as both a time replenisher (air decreasing over time) and a "health replenisher" (since taking hits decreases your air supply). Personally, it made me just want to go from one air bubble to the next. In fact, I could even go to an air bubble that had a fish on it, since the air replenished fairly quickly. I think it would be interesting (maybe this happens automatically at lower depths?) if your air supply was larger, but air bubbles were fewer and further apart? Or if air bubbles had limited supply and each could only recover up to a portion of your air supply. You might be able to find more elegant solutions if you thought about it.

I definitely love the 3D graphics, the fish are cute :] I have to say I'm impressed for a 48 hour compo entry. The mechanics are solid, the game is fun to play, and there's a surprising amount of content available. (I was really excited when I got the scuba gear ;D). Nice work! :D

teambrookvale says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:04am

Really cool concept and nice graphics!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:28am

I was determined to beat it, but the furthest I got to was 95m! Played for a good 15 mins though, really liked the graphics (especially the animations!), and the only thing I wanted was for the view to drop a bit more below the diver so that I wouldn't run into the fish as much.. it added to the challenge though so I don't think it was totally a bad thing :) Also, the music and sound was great, it along with the rhythmic swimming controls (I used a 360 controller) put me into kind of a trance as I was playing. Great job!

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:06pm

I liked the timing stuff of the swimming. Nice concept and graphics.

Pumpkinwaffle says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Loved it, simple and effective game! I was determined to get as far as I could and played for about 15-20 minutes.

thaaks says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Is there a treasure? Is there a reason to go back upwards again?
I found it strange to "receive" air when staying in sync with the swimming movement. The current amount of air was irritating because the "air-o-meter" shrank from both directions...a clearer display would have been more helpful.
Still a good game with potential!

TeamFlare says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:55pm

haha nice i like it.

May 4, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Nice swimming control. It's simple, but fun. Might add some gimmick to make the game more fun. :)

MrBlade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Good sounds, nice graphics, and the gameplay feels solid. Certain restrictions on when you can swim are odd and feels to strict. The camera moves oddly slow (I think this was the intention) so I was just waiting around at the bottom of the screen waiting for more air. Overall good work.

csanyk says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:48am

All I can do is die.

loxo says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Simple but interesting concept. Sadly the game is very slow on my computer, so it wasn't that much fun. Another problem I had: The player is diving faster than the camera is moving, so I had to wait for the camera to catch up.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]