Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

HolyDiver

by Finn Stokes - Jam Entry

In the year 3020, humanity has come a long way but religious war continues. Years of technological innovation have left the oceans full of polluting liquids, which have settled into different layers. Since all land is required to house and feed the population, religious factions have turned to the oceans for their battleground.

Each submarine can adjust its buoyancy to settle beneath the surface of any liquid layer. In the same way, the buoyancy of torpedoes must be chosen to target the infidels. Torpedoes are automatically loaded and fired.

There is a single player version of the game available if you can't find someone else to play with you, but the AI is very simplistic, so it is recommended you play with another human.

Controls
========
Left player:
Adjust sub buoyancy: W/S
Adjust torpedo buoyancy: Q/A

Right player:
Adjust sub buoyancy: O/L
Adjust torpedo buoyancy: I/K


Credits
========
Finn Stokes
Sophie Hollitt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#140Humor(Jam)3.24
#295Audio(Jam)3.22
#361Fun(Jam)3.00
#480Innovation(Jam)2.75
#518Overall(Jam)2.96
#610Theme(Jam)2.61
#616Mood(Jam)2.57
#647Graphics(Jam)2.57
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

ceosol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

I was lol'ing at the sound effects. I did the same on my game. I was confused at first about the controls, but get it now. It would be awesome if you added an enemy AI. Even if you get had random number generators changing every second or half second would make this amazing as a single player version.

Finn Stokes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14am

Good point about the single player version, I had been considering that myself and hadn't got around to it. I implemented an extremely simple AI and uploaded it as a separate version of the game just as the submission hour started. It should probably be accessible from some sort of in-game menu but I'm out of time to implement that. I'll upload a windows executable when I get home this evening (GMT+9:30).

ceosol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:39am

I'll be sure to check it out when I can :)

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:22pm

We liked it. The controls felt a little unintuitive.

The audio made it even more fun.

Finn Stokes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Okay, I've added the windows executable for the single player version and actually uploaded the correct archive for the python download of the single player version.

Finn Stokes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Siewart: Thanks! The controls are a little unintuitive. If we worked on this more, we would like to change them to something better, but haven't come up with anything yet.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Seems to be very difficult to hit someone in this game. It could use some balancing.

4sap says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:51am

How do I run this on a linux machine? Running the main.py does nothing.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:20pm

A bit difficult to hit the opponent, but it's funny.

The sounds are very funny, because it's exactly what we said if it hasn't sound. Great job :)

Finn Stokes says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:49am

4sap: Are you running it in a terminal? If so, does it give any sort of error? If you don't already have it, you will need to install PyGame (http://www.pygame.org/).

ceosol says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Good job on the single player update. I was getting these matrix style near misses :)

Colthor says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Very funny. Love the bullet-time effect :)

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:25am

Difficult but it made me laugh!

pichifino says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:07am

Fun!

Moosefly says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Lovely sound effects, could've used a background song though. Simple, but surprisingly fun due to the "imprecise" control scheme. Too bad I didn't have another person to play with.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

607 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Um, well, that was weird :P I like the sound effects ;) The gameplay was great, I played the 1 player version a couple times, and the opponent was just right I think. I really like how this works with controlling everything and things. I'm a bit confused at the plot though.

CommanderJ says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:06am

I love the sounds, very fun. The whole game is fun. Good job

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]