Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sub Terraria Zero

by Photon - Jam Entry

According to legend, the caverns of the wild tundra house great treasure. However, something else much more sinister is spoken of in the folklore... and it is said there is no bound on its prey.

Explore, look for treasure, but note your steps. Cloaked in shadow and snow may wait something you did not expect.

-----------

WOW. This is definitely the most work I've put into an LD-entry up to this point, and I'm pretty pleased with the results. Enjoy, and feedback is welcome!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#166Overall(Jam)3.53
#176Fun(Jam)3.33
#192Theme(Jam)3.51
#209Graphics(Jam)3.80
#230Mood(Jam)3.37
#445Audio(Jam)2.89
#471Innovation(Jam)2.77
#477Humor(Jam)2.30

Comments

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:24am

Really great submission. Love the art and lighting.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48am

Nice game ! I love it, graphics are nice, gameplay is absolutely amazing, not too easy, awesome :D

Garris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:18am

Like a 2d Tomb Raider with a lot of snow! This was tons of fun, and just the right kind of difficult to really make me feel stupid every time I died, thus making me try again. Well done.

RowdyGhosts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14am

Really fun little game! I had some trouble getting used to the controls, but bouncing with the flame weapon felt very good. Great work!

xerohuang says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:26am

Love the art style, and game play is great. But a bit hard.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:27am

Game for me is
Hard as hell
But you made it
pretty well =)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38am

I am not great at this sort of game, but I like the dark areas. Fun :)

mir007 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:53am

Great mood on the game.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05am

Although difficult, this is a really polished entry. The graphical style is fantastic, and everything feels solid. Congrats!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Good mood, I like those pixels!

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:00pm

That was so retro and so awesome! Those monsters in the dark, scary. It was really hard, too, which is why I couldn't complete it...got the flame gun and reached the diamond thing but kept dying after that.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Really smooth gameplay. :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Cool game! Nice pixel art graphics and solid gameplay. I love these sorts of screen-by-screen exploration platformers, so I approve of this!

ceosol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:14am

Like the artwork and the dark/spotlights. Well executed, congrats.

Rialgar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:07am

OP delivers: here is a Let's Play of your game:
http://youtu.be/34Q4LE6ooAE
I don't think I praised it enough, it was just too immersive. It is a great game with beautifully executed pixel graphics and 8Bit sound.

Katamori says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Ah, another Stencyl game! I will never forget the days I spent on it.

The game itself is beautiful and great. I love the sandbox-esque nonlinear map.

Photon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Thank you everyone for the amazing feedback!

@Rialgar: Thanks for the vid! Sorry you ran into the recoil bug where you can get stuck. I'll have to try and do something about that. But I really do appreciate the video!

thinkster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Nice game! Gets a little difficult once you get into the dark, but a suppose a few more play throughs and I'd get used to it. Congratulations on a great submission!

rujo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:33am

very good piece of work, one of my favourites for the moment!
i really like the style, the big pixel art and the choice of colors.
great playability and level design

MintArcade says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Like you game. Lightning technics are great for this genre. Very satisfying experience.

eLLectron says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:04pm

The graphics are really beautiful but the game is really too difficult... The fairies attacked me, WTF ! The weapon doesn't do anything ! I think that it's a little bit too punitive...
If you're going to work again on this game, add a little chiptune with some reverb ;D
BIG UP for theme and graphics.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Great game. The power ups are cool and the exploring is fun.

May 2, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Well. Overall, this was a pretty good game. I liked the weapons, the graphics, the mood, the take on the theme as well as the audio. I've seen more original games, but I haven't made more original games myself, so that doesn't really say much. This was pretty fun. I would've played this 'til the end, but after a while, the game kinda crashed.
I uploaded a password protected image here: http://imgh.us/Beta_Testing_2.png (STZCrash). I jumped on the first purplish enemy I saw, and after that, the game kept going but I couldn't move nor shoot or anything like that. I don't know if you knew about this issue, or if you want to fix it after the contest, but oh well.

This was a fun game; well done, and good luck! :D

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Love the retro aesthetic!

Cosine says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Cool mood. The audio was a bit piercing.

Almost says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:28am

It seems weird that the game gives me a weapon that doesn't seem to hurt any of the enemies that I encounter. So it is a game where I am unarmed and nearly blind trying to find platforms in the dark while running away from stuff.

Photon says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:49am

I can see where people might get confused about the default weapon not working; it has the same hit animation for hitting an enemy as hitting a tile. Something to consider for future iterations.

Initially, it can only hurt the flying glowflies, and they require five hits. The other white thing can only be pushed by it.

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:44pm

It's not easy to move in the darkness. But I like game's style.

Candyhandy says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:49pm

I simply love it, awesome game.

pythong says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:22am

I think I got stuck twice, was that intentional?

(I made a vine (two to be precise). https://vine.co/u/972257384326180864)

I'm on Windows 7, used Firefox, latest version, AIR also latest

thaaks says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Nice little game! A bit too difficult for me on the dark room with the bats. Seemed I couldn't shoot them at all.
Jumping via "Z" and shooting with "X" is difficult on a german keyboard because "Z" and "Y" are swapped on german keyboards compared to US keyboards.
Otherwise quite fun!

zebi24 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Looks really good! :)

ethankennerly says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:41am

When I was running through the dark areas exploring, I felt curious. If you continue to develop this, after the save crystal, going left and getting eaten by the green monster on the bottom a few times, I felt annoyed. I jumped on the platforms, but the bats took more hits than I could land before they knocked into the lower floor with the green monster.

Tifu says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Got stuck in a pit with no ammo to do the fire jump out, the bats wouldn't kill me and the green thing in the ground wasn't coming, had to restart :( Restarted from start, got stuck on a purple fire breathing monster and couldn't move. Was enjoying it until these problems occurred. Would like to play if this was fixed (even if not to fix the getting trapped/getting stuck, but just adding a suicide/respawn at last save button)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]