Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

BENEATH the SURFACE

by soy_yuma - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are FASCINATED by complex systems. But this one is special. Is more complex and more... attractive? Keep breaking through to discover the truth; not about "the system", but about yourself.

### Controls
* Left and right arrows to move.
* Up arrow to jump.
* Up array in mid-air to double jump.

### Hints
* Find the path to the next layer.
* Avoid red zones; curiosity killed the cat.
* Use green zones to save progress.

### Updates
* I've added a NERFed version for the most sensitive to frustration.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#150Fun3.59
#151Innovation3.71
#157Overall3.67
#204Theme3.67
#245Mood3.42
#415Humor2.64
#424Audio2.96
#440Graphics3.33

Comments

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Pretty cool idea. Once the passages got a bt narrow, it seemed impossible to pass. Loved the sound fx!

hathol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Very nice game and a good challenge. Love the clarity and simplicity of it.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Really great gameplay and presentation, cripplingly difficult as well.

Zephyr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Simple, challenging and fun. Well done! Some parts seem impossible, but I liked it.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Loved the sfxs! And the mechanics were quite interesting too.

StabAlarash says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:58pm

really addicting, nicely done

NickZangus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Very challenging! (in the good way) I love the aesthetic and the gameplay... Maybe a post-compo version with the difficulty level that rises more slowly?

snooze82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:05pm

good luck to you and maru <3 <3 :) love the game

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Wow! Me en-can-ta! Muy bonito el mensaje final :')
Uno de mis favoritos de este LD, sin duda!

shubshub says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19am

Really Difficulty and I Liked it alot the Graphics were not that great but the rest of the game was epic

Gameplay Video: http://youtu.be/AFAWf2gUXC4 [Should be Uploaded in about an Hour and 30 Minutes or so]

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35am

GHfsdfjfnkjnbbb. I think the collision detective is too frustratingly sensitive. I like the idea and the general execution.

syawqy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35am

haaard....

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Very original and fun game. The sound effects were hilarious :D
This section took me long
http://s12.postimg.org/95z270o0d/sect.png
But I was already too engaged to mind too much.

Draknek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

The webpage this is embedded in doesn't have scrollbars, so the only way of seeing the bottom half of the game was to resize my window. Browser bug?

Mid-air jump seemed unreliable: it's not a fixed number of mid-air jumps but I couldn't work out why sometimes I could jump in the air and sometimes I couldn't. Needs time between jumps to recharge? Not well communicated.

hazmo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:43pm

This was hard in a great way. Really enjoyed playing this one :) Was the hit box for the triangle a square? It felt like I was dying sometimes when i could see that i wasn't touching the red yet. Still really awesome though.

TomboFry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Love challenging games, and love the simplicity of the graphics. Spent way too long on this one!

Garris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:21pm

This is very well done. The difficulty is ridiculous (not in a bad way) and the running narration creates a great mood. It got a little too frustrating for me later in, but I'll be coming back to it later. Well done!

rnlf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:49am

Nice interpretation of the theme. Also loved the art style.

Luis Anton says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:46am

Woho, the fourth one get pretty difficult! :D Nice : )

Sheepolution says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:52pm

The game is really hard, it gets to a point where it's not much more fun. I the graphics look simple and clean, but the audio doesn't fit.

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:39am

Very good and very hard, I like the fact that you have an objective in sight, it makes the player curious and it's motivating.

Lyje says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:26pm

If at first you don't succeed... yeah there was a lot of that! But practice made some sections eventually feel easier. Good job the game!

May 3, 2014 @ 8:56pm

I really enjoyed this. I only got to like the 6th or 7th level due to frustration. But this was so much fun and a challenge. Only thing to improve could be by adding a soundtrack. However I loved the sound effects. They were really cute and the death one sounded like farts haha. Well done you should be proud ~Boa

BasselGaming says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Haha! really cool idea and concept!

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Not sure if the slow speed is intended, but it seemed like the game lagged a lot. Very challenging but fun.

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:44pm

very challenging in a good way! very enjoyable. also love the mouth sounds :D

michniewski says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Great difficulty progression. Interesting game idea. Love it!

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:12am

Nicely done. Cool graphic. Too hard for me, but very cool gameplay.

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Pretty cool game, with some relaxing music in the background I could see my self losing hours to this!

JavadocMD says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:36pm

So challenging, but so worth it! There's some really nice level design here. I especially liked the non-circular and non-symmetrical levels. I usually am not a big fan of challenging platformers, but the ending made the frustration worthwhile.

My only nitpick is that the little path of triangles you leave behind you doesn't always space evenly, so there are little gaps in the particles you leave behind. Super minor but distracting to my eye.

Cake&Code says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:54am

HAHA! I managed to beat the original version <3. Very fun, every failure felt like my own failing to be dextrous enough. Very cool visual element too :)

Wertle says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:15am

A simple concept executed well, but a bit too highly tuned. The jumps got awfully difficult very quickly.

glbs says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:27am

It's was quite an unsuspected ending! Cute though.
I really enjoyed the game mechanics and the graphics, and how they work together.
I think you should add a proper music and sound effects to emphasize the descent aspect and the atmosphere of your game.
Nice work!

Rodaja says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:49am

Cuando los caminos son muy estrechos se hace demasiado difícil, y volver hasta donde estabas se hace un poco lento. Quizás el giro debería ser más rápido.

Zed says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:25pm

That was really sweet! Also, thoroughly enjoyed the vast quantity of what undeniably sounds like fart noises. Great gameplay, clever interpretation of the theme, good stuff.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Love this. You keep playing because you want to find out if it ends. Also enjoyed the interpretation of the theme.

rojo says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Pretty challenging. It took awhile to get used to the jumping mechanic. It's a bit nonstandard so I think that's why some people have difficulty with it. Overall a cool idea and nice presentation, though.

MaesK says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Nice game. Exactly as difficult as it needs to be. Sounds are funny :) Graphics and mechanics are simple but really efficient. Good job!

BadgerPriest says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:26am

Great game. Took me a while to figure out that holding the arrow made the jump last longer.

meszka says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Nice narrative :) Jumping mechanic was a little confusing as others have mentioned.

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:20pm

A wonderful take on the theme with a great Sentris-esque aesthetic and probably one of the best finales of the jam. Great work!

Anoarith says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Really Hardcore :o

joe40001 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 1:24am

Innovative and fun, and personally I liked the level of difficulty. Could have used a bit better sound, even if you wanted to stay audio consistent maybe some acapella little ditty but for the compo I suppose even public domain stuff isn't allowed.

Anyway great job, quite fun.

May 18, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Clever design and like the way you've changed things up with the additional gameplay elements that are introduced the further down you go.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]