Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Oubliette Within

by Dietrich Epp - Jam Entry

Version 2.0 is the post-jam version. I encourage people to try it out to see where the game was headed, since version 2.0 has sound effects, music, much better level artwork, and some gameplay improvements.

The v1.0 downloads are for the Jam version.

On Linux, run "make" from the "src" directory, and then run "./Oubliette -d ../data". You'll need development packages for SDL2, SDL2_image, and GLEW.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#206Theme(Jam)3.49
#300Mood(Jam)3.20
#383Fun(Jam)2.98
#403Overall(Jam)3.15
#437Graphics(Jam)3.22
#485Innovation(Jam)2.74
#552Humor(Jam)2.12
#661Audio(Jam)1.57

Comments

bazld says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Would love to try this, mac/win ideally (else, will try to do a linux build).

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:43am

Sorry, I couldn't play it! I got MSVCR120.dll missing D:! (Windows 7)

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:54am

Sorry, that should be fixed now. I had accidentally included MSVCP120.dll instead of MSVCR120.dll, I mean come on now, isn't it obvious which one is correct?

Almost says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:16am

It fails now because msvcp120.dll is missing, presumably you need both (and possibly others)

I'm on windows.

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:23am

Same, needs both to run on Windows.

rojo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:36am

The graphics in this game look pretty cool.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:51am

GAH! Okay, both are now included. I am glad I took the time to write a script to make the zip file.

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:55am

Wow, good work.

The graphics are great, I really like the pixelated effect.

I really appreciate that you tackled some pretty personal, meaningful issues. Talk about beneath the surface.

I would have liked to see some more animations, like maybe a walking animation on the main character. Some sound would be nice too.

snade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:01am

Decent game, had no idea what the goal was though.

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:37am

Was it just a track pad thing to not be able to move and shoot?
Made it pretty impossible.
Anyway, digged the art!

frankbsad says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:38am

I like this take on the theme, looked great too.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:42am

@SoupWithBits: If you can't shoot, play on easy--enemies can't kill you on easy :-)

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:02am

Really beneath the surface there, kinda downed me a bit.

DarkMaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:25am

So... I guess you've stopped the development abruptly in order to submit it here. That's okay, the idea is pretty simple and takes focus on exploration. But maybe you could at least animate or flip the character when he faces left?

Overall... it's a very interesting game, with a nice concept, but still "half-made". Can you finish this? It would be great if you did that. :D

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:41am

Wow, glad I came back to check on this game! Nice work fixing the .dll errors by the way :]!

I love the mechanics of this game. The way the platforming is interspersed with the inner dialogue is awesome! Plus, I'm a huge fan of the way you always "return home" after collecting each of the pieces. Though it took me a while to figure out how to finish the game after completing the 3 parts, because I didn't think to exit through the same door I just entered :b

I think one thing I would have liked to see, personally, is a bit more depth on the dialogue part. The way it's implemented is really cool, but the actual lines themselves are a bit choppy and shallow. It's also hard to relate the game to the story. The shapes (circle, star, diamond) don't appear to signify anything, and when you're presented with multiple doors, you have no idea what kind of choice you're making when you choose one over the other.

By the way, the graphics are pretty sweet. I really enjoyed just shooting nothing (possibly because when you shoot a lot, the explosions on the walls look like popcorn :b) Also, the platforming itself is smooth and the level are well designed. Great game! :D

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:24pm

@DarkMaster: I'm working on a "2.0 post-compo version" with fleshed-out level graphics, animations, and recorded dialogue. You can see in the lower-right hand corner of the first "hub" area what the levels might look like when fleshed-out. I actually recorded dialogue during the competition, but I didn't have enough time to edit it or write the code to play it.

@KirbiKaka: Yeah, I agree that it seems esoteric how the pieces match up to the levels. I wanted to add sigils to label each of the doors, but that got cut due to time constraints.

Marjie62 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:22am

It was fun and intriguing, with a lot of branching and unstated goals. I did get a little frustrated after a while, not really understanding what effect my decisions had. We seem to have eventually found the "good" ending where you accept your fears :)

pikkpoiss says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:00am

I liked the aesthetic a lot, and liked how the main level was a bit more of a departure from standard tile-based games. The jumping and moving felt good, but the aiming was a bit fussy with a trackpad.

I'll admit that I didn't quite get how the levels mapped to the collectibles, nor how the dialog mapped to needing to shoot all the characters in each level, might be more interesting with different types of gameplay based off of the tormentor. But I did get pretty engrossed with finding the treasures, I'm a sucker for that kind of mechanic :)

bazld says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:08am

Finally got round to playing it (built the mac version) -- loved it! Very playable mechanics - I thought the shooting/jumping was almost spot-on. The shader effects really give it a great look. Level design was good, and I liked encountering the different characters.

I also got a bit confused with the looping-back mechanic (but I am usually kinda bad at these games), maybe an extra hint or 2 would suffice?

Great job, one of my favourite entries so far.

Neonlare says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:23am

Pretty damn mood-driven, it's a shame there wasn't any sound to add to this and the characters were rather static throughout. I think some of the themes could be explored a bit more, it was an interesting experience though for certain! Did find the themeing very intriguing.

dertom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Worked for me using wine under linux. Nice game. Nice graphics. Neat little dialog-story. I like it! Good job!

danialhyatt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Good one! I wish there were some sounds and animations, but gameplay and concept are great and the silence almost made it more effective!

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:39pm

nice aprites, wish there'd be some perfunctory sounds to compliment. i quite like this kind of platformer :)

BoneDaddy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:44pm

That was EXCELLENT! I love the graphics a lot (could do with some animations). The core gameplay mechanic is a bit lacking, could be funner. But the use of theme here is great. A few months back I did a take on exploring one's fears at a jam (platformer as well), so I can really appreciate what you accomplished here. Love this kind of stuff, very good work.

jaxonf92 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:33am

Great game. loved the level design

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:23am

This was deep (no pun intended). I loved the look of the art, and the way the difficulty selection was implemented!

jujule says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:43pm

I tested the 1.0 jam version. Obviously the game lacks polish due to time constraints but I liked action take on the theme and especially how you managed to integrate it in the platformer format. Now I'll go on playing the post comp version.

Delca says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:10pm

I really wanted to 5 star the audio, it is a shame that the jam version did not have any...
Anyway, I loved your game! Graphics were good (even in the jam version), controls were very smooth, and the levels were well-designed. Great job!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 6:43am

@Delca: Don't worry about rating the audio, I'll get it within the deadline next time. I just want a couple people to hear it :-)

pichifino says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:08am

Like it

frogcheese says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Interesting and thoughtful, made me think. I liked the pixellated look, and the controls were smooth and responsive without any obvious collision issues, which has been a problem with many LD platformers. Good job!

Maxom says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Very nice game. I enjoyed the fast shooting and the graphics are also very interessting!

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Nice graphics , but the view has some problems. Overall nice game

kirbytails7 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:27am

Pretty smooth. I think having some large amount of health at Easy would be better, as I was confused as to whether or not there was health at all.

TheZiggy says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:59am

Looks interesting

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]