Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

RoBroMiner

by CiderPunk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Send your robot minions to mine for gems in this puzzle game!
I ran low on time so the map quality is a bit lacking and i didn't get to add the features I wanted to.

Katy wanted to be in my game... so that's what happened there.

It's written in Java using LibGDX, I used Eclipse, paint.NET, notepad2, SFXR, gimp.

Edit: deployed a patch to correct gem depositing behaviour, you can now drop gems off from any direction, and corrected a game breaker on the android version!

Edit2: Rolled out an update to the google play android version to make the GUI larger on smart phones. this'll be the last competition-legit android version on google play before I start rolling out post compo updates with new maps and features!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#320Innovation3.41
#376Theme3.46
#433Fun3.15
#470Overall3.26
#523Humor2.47
#585Graphics3.13
#687Mood2.86
#723Audio2.44

Comments

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

I really like the mechanic of pre-determining the route to take. The possibility of rocks falling was unexpected but definitely adds to the thought behind solving a map. This was really nostalgic of the kind of computer games we used to play in school. I could definitely see something like this being used to teach kids logic, while still being fun for adults. Nice work!

r2d2upgrade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:11pm

A cute little game! Love the graphics! And the puzzles really rack my brain! Nice :)

gmaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:04pm

i like colors you used. palette nice! fun little game

igwb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07pm

The falling rocks sure came unexpected, I realy like that. However I couldn't realy figure out how to advance to the next level. I had collected all gems and the bot was back at the surface... Nothing happened.
Nice concept though.

pinion says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Good fun setting up the route and then watching him go.

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:43pm

you need to move the bot to the girl to finish a level, for some reason moving vertically to her doesn't trigger success (it was supposed to), I ran out of time fixing that one, just make sure you finish moving horizontally towards her!

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:06pm

I like the idea of the game, but it is a bit easy after you figured out what happens with the stone.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Haha, I got a shock when the rocks started falling. A really nice implementation here. Clean interface, good sound, and pretty graphics. Well done! (thanks for the heads up about returning the droid, was returning vertically but nothing was happening)

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Really nice concept! I had fun playing it. This may do well commercially if you think about that direction.

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33am

Could use a title screen, but I had a lot of fun with it. The rocks' physics are wonky sometimes.

Programmable games always have a special place in my heart too :-)

I wish we could make the captain fall into the hole too :-P Am I a bad person?

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:53am

Yes! Poor space captain!

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14pm

That is a great puzzle game.

GagaPete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Pretty cute game. Like some of the graphics. Pretty good take on the theme.
I was a little bit confused about what to do in the beginning but figured it out. Would be worth some polishing and then make some money with it. Basic game free and level packs for sale would probably work well on mobile.

Ellian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Woah. I was like "okay, this is a classic, but at least it'll be different from what I've seen so far"...
But using physic on the rocks? It was awesome! I hope to see more of this :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Really creative idea. I had a hard time figuring out what to do at first, so I think a tutorial of some sort would help a lot. Cool game though!

Akz- says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Cool mechanic for a puzzle game, enjoyed it! It is a bit tedious to always run the simulation from the beginning, though. Perhaps there could be a button for accelerating the time?

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:04pm

yeah time acceleration was the plan, codes all in there for variable tick rates but adding the UI would have taken map editing time away which I had precious little of anyway.
Thanks for your kind comments everyone i'm inspired to work on this some more post compo!

Wakka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Great puzzle game.

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:39pm

I really liked this. Refreshing puzzler, kind of a cross between digdug and chu chu rocket. Solid theme, and looked nice given that you said you didn't have much time to work on it. Polish it and sell it, I'd play it.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:17am

This was really clever. One of my favorites so far. I would like to see an expanded version of this, maybe where you list the commands in order instead of placing them. Could be used to teach programming concepts similar to Light Not. My only gripe is that the buttons were too small on my phone.

XenosNS says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:25am

Excellent puzzle game!

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:35am

That space captain looks somewhat creepy, but still great. I really like that commanding mechanics, and 'trial-and-error' gameplay.

I loved level with 2 RoBros :D

SoupWithBits says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:12am

Awesome puzzle game!

Jiggawatt says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Streamed this. A solid game, enough variety even if it was kinda short. Conceptual games like these are always alright.

Moosefly says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:16pm

I don't know what laws those rocks followed but they sure weren't the laws of physics I know :D. Neat game, although a bit heavy on trial and error because of the rocks.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

pikkpoiss says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:32pm

This reminded me of the board game Ricochet Robots, but the falling rocks was an awesome addition. Great idea and execution!

TeamFlare says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:16pm

okay thats a very cool puzzle game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]